Bram Stoker

Bram  Stoker

Abraham Bram Stoker (8 November 1847 – 20 April 1912) was an Irish author best known for his Gothic novel Dracula, which was published in 1897. Stoker wrote his first horror novella, The Primrose Way, in 1875, after being influenced by his travels and exposure to the arts. While running the successful Lyceum Theatre, he continued to publish works, notably the tale Beneath the Sunset (1882) and the novel The Snake's Pass (1890), which received some critical recognition. Most significantly, he received widespread acclaim for his numerous roles in the arts. Dracula, Stoker's masterwork, was published in 1897.

Before his death, Stoker published 19 books following the publication of Dracula. Miss Betty (1898), The Responsibilities of Clerks of Petty Sessions in Ireland (1879), The Mystery of the Sea (1902), The Jewel of Seven Stars (1904), and The Cavern of the White Worm (1911), later renamed The Garden of Evil, are among Stoker's later works.