Patricia Beatty

Patricia Beatty was born in Portland, Oregon, and lived in southern California for a long time. She taught high school English and history after graduating from college, and then worked as a science and technical librarian, as well as a children's librarian. Patricia Beatty is the author of many popular and award-winning children's books, including NCSS Outstanding Children's Trade Books in the Subject of Social Sciences such as Eight Mules from Monterey, Bethany Brant, Turn Homeward, Hannalee, Be Ever Hopeful, Hannalee, and Jayhawker. Her work Lupita Maana was named a Jane Addams Children's Book Prize honor title, and her historical fiction novel Charley Skedaddle earned the Scott O'Dell Award.