Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir
ISBN: 0062685090
EAN13: 9780062685094
Language: English
Pages: 240
Dimensions: 1.00" H x 9.00" L x 6.00" W
Weight: 1.00 lbs.
Format: Paperback

Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir

by
$12.99
Select Format
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: New

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: New

$12.99
Quantity
76 Available

Select Conditions
  • New $12.99 Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir
Book Overview
A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life --perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo . This nonfiction graphic novel is an excellent choice for accelerated tween readers in grades 7 to 8, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation--following her mother's announcement that she's getting married--Robin is devastated. Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn't understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to--her mother. Then one day Robin's mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined. --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Frequently Asked Questions About Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir

Book Reviews (0)

0
  |   0  reviews
Did you read Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha

No customer reviews for the moment.