Anna of Kleve, the Princess in the Portrait
ISBN: 1101966599
EAN13: 9781101966594
Language: English
Pages: 544
Dimensions: 1.00" H x 8.00" L x 5.00" W
Weight: 1.00 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Very Good

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Very Good

$14.66
List Price: $18
Save: $3.34 (18%)
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.

Select Conditions
  • Very Good $14.66 Anna of Kleve, the Princess in the Portrait
  • New $18.00 Anna of Kleve, the Princess in the Portrait
Book Overview
The surprising and dramatic life of the least known of King Henry VIII's wives is illuminated in the fourth volume in the Six Tudor Queens series--for fans of Philippa Gregory, Hilary Mantel, and The Crown . Newly widowed and the father of an infant son, Henry VIII realizes he must marry again to ensure the royal succession. Forty-six, overweight, and suffering from gout, Henry is soundly rejected by some of Europe's most eligible princesses. Anna of Kleve, from a small German duchy, is twenty-four, and has a secret she is desperate to keep hidden. Henry commissions her portrait from his court painter, who depicts her from the most flattering perspective. Entranced by the lovely image, Henry is bitterly surprised when Anna arrives in England and he sees her in the flesh. Some think her attractive, but Henry knows he can never love her. What follows is the fascinating story of an awkward royal union that somehow had to be terminated. Even as Henry begins to warm to his new wife and share her bed, his attention is captivated by one of her maids-of-honor. Will he accuse Anna of adultery as he did Queen Anne Boleyn, and send her to the scaffold? Or will he divorce her and send her home in disgrace? Alison Weir takes a fresh and astonishing look at this remarkable royal marriage by describing it from the point of view of Queen Anna, a young woman with hopes and dreams of her own, alone and fearing for her life in a royal court that rejected her almost from the day she set foot on England's shore.

Frequently Asked Questions About Anna of Kleve, the Princess in the Portrait

What should you read after Anna of Kleve, the Princess in the Portrait? Here is a list of books to read if you read and loved Anna of Kleve, the Princess in the Portrait

Book Reviews (0)

0
  |   0  reviews
Did you read Anna of Kleve, the Princess in the Portrait? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha

No customer reviews for the moment.