Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error
ISBN: 0061176052
EAN13: 9780061176050
Language: English
Pages: 416
Dimensions: 1.00" H x 8.00" L x 5.00" W
Weight: 1.00 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Publisher:
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Good

$5.27
List Price: $17.99
Save: $12.72 (70%)
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.

Select Conditions
  • Good $5.27 Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error
  • New $17.99 Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error
Book Overview
The bestselling history of and investigation into human error by beloved New Yorker writer Kathryn Schulz Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it. --Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational, Being Wrong explores what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan, Being Wrong will change the way you perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth and daily variety, forever.
Editor Reviews
From the Back Cover To err is human. Yet most of us go through life assuming (and sometimes insisting) that we are right about nearly everything, from the origins of the universe to how to load the dishwasher. In Being Wrong , journalist Kathryn Schulz explores why we find it so gratifying to be right and so maddening to be mistaken. Drawing on thinkers as varied as Augustine, Darwin, Freud, Gertrude Stein, Alan Greenspan, and Groucho Marx, she shows that error is both a given and a gift--one that can transform our worldviews, our relationships, and ourselves.
From the front Cover To err is human. Yet most of us go through life assuming (and sometimes insisting) that we are right about nearly everything, from the origins of the universe to how to load the dishwasher. In Being Wrong , journalist Kathryn Schulz explores why we find it so gratifying to be right and so maddening to be mistaken. Drawing on thinkers as varied as Augustine, Darwin, Freud, Gertrude Stein, Alan Greenspan, and Groucho Marx, she shows that error is both a given and a gift--one that can transform our worldviews, our relationships, and ourselves. --Bill McKibben, author of EAARTH: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet

Frequently Asked Questions About Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error

Book Reviews (0)

0
  |   0  reviews
Did you read Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha

No customer reviews for the moment.