Born of Deception
ISBN: 0062187589
EAN13: 9780062187581
Language: English
Pages: 352
Dimensions: 1.00" H x 8.00" L x 5.00" W
Weight: 1.00 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Product is currently Out of Stock.
You can add it to your wishlist and you will be notified once we receive a copy.
Book Overview
Perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, this thrilling historical suspense novel--and sequel to Born of Illusion --tells the story of a teen illusionist who must harness her special powers and navigate the underworld of magic before her murderous enemies catch up with her. After scoring a spot on a European vaudeville tour, Anna Van Housen is moving to London to chase her dream and to join an underground society for people like her with psychic abilities. But when Anna arrives, she finds the group in turmoil--one of its members has been kidnapped, and members of the society are starting to turn on one another. Her life in danger and her relationship with her boyfriend, Cole, fizzling, can Anna track down the kidnapper before he makes her his next victim--or will she be forced to pay the ultimate price for her powers? Lovers of historical fiction and stories filled with romance and intrigue will fall for Born of Deception and its world of magic set in Jazz Age London.
Editor Reviews
From the Back Cover Budding illusionist Anna Van Housen is on top of the world. After scoring a spot on a European vaudeville tour, she's moving to London to chase her dream and to join the Society for Psychical Research, an underground group for Sensitives, people like her with psychic abilities. Along with her beau, Cole, Anna is prepared to take the city by storm. But when Anna arrives in London, she finds the Society in turmoil. Sensitives are disappearing, and the group's members are turning on one another. As Cole and Anna try to unravel the case, their plans for romance in London dissolve in the chaos. With her life in danger and her relationship fizzling, can Anna track down the kidnapper before he makes her his next victim--or will she be forced to pay the ultimate price for her powers?
From the front Cover Budding illusionist Anna Van Housen is on top of the world. After scoring a spot on a European vaudeville tour, she's moving to London to chase her dream and to join the Society for Psychical Research, an underground group for Sensitives, people like her with psychic abilities. Along with her beau, Cole, Anna is prepared to take the city by storm. But when Anna arrives in London, she finds the Society in turmoil. Sensitives are disappearing, and the group's members are turning on one another. As Cole and Anna try to unravel the case, their plans for romance in London dissolve in the chaos. With her life in danger and her relationship fizzling, can Anna track down the kidnapper before he makes her his next victim--or will she be forced to pay the ultimate price for her powers? -- Kirkus Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions About Born of Deception