Elizabeth & Margaret: The Intimate World of the Windsor Sisters
ISBN: 1538700468
EAN13: 9781538700464
Language: English
Pages: 384
Dimensions: 1.00" H x 9.00" L x 6.00" W
Weight: 1.00 lbs.
Format: Hardcover

Elizabeth & Margaret: The Intimate World of the Windsor Sisters

by
$17.67
List Price: $28
Save: $10.33 (36%)
Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: Very Good

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Very Good

$17.67
List Price: $28
Save: $10.33 (36%)
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.

Select Conditions
  • Very Good $17.67 Elizabeth & Margaret: The Intimate World of the Windsor Sisters
  • New $28.00 Elizabeth & Margaret: The Intimate World of the Windsor Sisters
Book Overview
Perfect for fans of The Crown , this captivating biography from a New York Times bestselling author follows Queen Elizabeth II and her sister Margaret as they navigate life in the royal spotlight. They were the closest of sisters and the best of friends. But when, in a quixotic twist of fate, their uncle Edward Vlll decided to abdicate the throne, the dynamic between Elizabeth and Margaret was dramatically altered. Forever more Margaret would have to curtsey to the sister she called 'Lillibet.' And bow to her wishes. Elizabeth would always look upon her younger sister's antics with a kind of stoical amusement, but Margaret's struggle to find a place and position inside the royal system--and her fraught relationship with its expectations--was often a source of tension. Famously, the Queen had to inform Margaret that the Church and government would not countenance her marrying a divorcee, Group Captain Peter Townsend, forcing Margaret to choose between keeping her title and royal allowances or her divorcee lover. From the idyll of their cloistered early life, through their hidden war-time lives, into the divergent paths they took following their father's death and Elizabeth's ascension to the throne, this book explores their relationship over the years. Andrew Morton's latest biography offers unique insight into these two drastically different sisters--one resigned to duty and responsibility, the other resistant to it--and the lasting impact they have had on the Crown, the royal family, and the ways it adapted to the changing mores of the 20th century.

Frequently Asked Questions About Elizabeth & Margaret: The Intimate World of the Windsor Sisters

Book Reviews (0)

0
  |   0  reviews
Did you read Elizabeth & Margaret: The Intimate World of the Windsor Sisters? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha

No customer reviews for the moment.