Mere Christianity
ISBN: 0061350214
EAN13: 9780061350214
Language: English
Pages: 328
Dimensions: 2.00" H x 8.00" L x 6.00" W
Weight: 2.00 lbs.
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: HarperOne
Book Overview
In the tradition of The Illustrated Screwtape Letters and The Illustrated Elements of Style, this beautiful keepsake edition of what has become perhaps the most important Christian book of the 20th century will include art, a new Foreword, a ribbon marker, and background material to celebrate the 60th anniversary of its publication.
Editor Reviews
From the Back Cover In 1941 England, when all hope was threatened by the inhumanity of war, C. S. Lewis was invited to give a series of radio lectures addressing the central issues of Christianity. More than half a century later, these talks continue to retain their poignancy. First heard as informal radio broadcasts on the BBC, the lectures were published as three books and subsequently combined as Mere Christianity . C. S. Lewis proves that at the center of each there is something, or a Someone, who against all divergences of belief, all differences of temperament, all memories of mutual persecution, speaks with the same voice, rejecting the boundaries that divide Christianity's many denominations. This twentieth century masterpiece provides an unequaled opportunity for believers and nonbelievers alike to hear a powerful, rational case for the Christian faith. With a new foreword by Lewis's stepson, Douglas Gresham, this illustrated gift edition evokes the historic time and place of the book's creation.