Saving Winslow
ISBN: 0062570714
EAN13: 9780062570710
Language: English
Pages: 176
Format: Paperback
Publisher:
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Very Good

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Very Good

$3.88
List Price: $8.16
Save: $4.28 (52%)
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.

Select Conditions
  • Very Good $3.88 Saving Winslow
  • New $8.16 Saving Winslow
Book Overview
Indie Next List Pick - ALA Notable Children's Book - Texas Bluebonnet Award Winner A winning tale of love. -- Kirkus (starred review) Perfect for fans of Charlotte's Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army. Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie's quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined. Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings. This heartwarming story is sure to be a hit with fans of E. B. White's Charlotte's Web and Kate DiCamillo's Because of Winn-Dixie . -- School Library Journal (starred review) Creech packs a tremendous amount of emotion between the lines of her understated prose. Animal lovers in particular will relish Louie's hard-won triumphs and find joy in Winslow's strength. -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) Woven into this narrative is a convincing portrayal of human growth and blossoming--the story is told simply but subtly, celebrating the unexpected strength of the vulnerable. -- Horn Book (starred review)
Editor Reviews
From the Back Cover A boy . . . A girl . . . A pitiful donkey . . . Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly, newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army. Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie's quirky new friend, Nora. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising events prove that this fragile donkey--and Louie--are stronger than anyone could have imagined. From Newbery Medal winner and New York Times bestselling author Sharon Creech comes a tale about love, friendship, and letting go.
From the front Cover A boy . . . A girl . . . A pitiful donkey . . . Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly, newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army. Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie's quirky new friend, Nora. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising events prove that this fragile donkey--and Louie--are stronger than anyone could have imagined. From Newbery Medal winner and New York Times bestselling author Sharon Creech comes a tale about love, friendship, and letting go. -- New York Times Book Review

Frequently bought together

Frequently Asked Questions About Saving Winslow