Sound
ISBN: 0062220179
EAN13: 9780062220172
Language: English
Pages: 496
Dimensions: 2.00" H x 8.00" L x 6.00" W
Weight: 1.00 lbs.
Format: Hardcover
Product is currently Out of Stock.
You can add it to your wishlist and you will be notified once we receive a copy.
Book Overview
Sound is the stand-alone companion to Alexandra Duncan's acclaimed debut novel Salvage , which was praised by internationally bestselling author Stephanie Perkins as brilliant, feminist science fiction. For fans of Beth Revis, Firefly , and Battlestar Galactica . As a child, Ava's adopted sister, Miyole, watched her mother take to the stars, piloting her own ship from Earth to space making deliveries. Now a teen herself, Miyole is finally living her dream as a research assistant on her very first space voyage. If she plays her cards right, she could even be given permission to conduct her own research and experiments in her own habitat lab on the flight home. But when her ship saves a rover that has been viciously attacked by looters and kidnappers, Miyole, along with a rescued rover girl named Cassia, embarks on a mission to rescue Cassia's abducted brother, and that changes the course of Miyole's life forever. Harrowing, provocative, and stunning, Sound begins roughly a decade after the action in the author's critically acclaimed Salvage , and is a powerful stand-alone companion.
Editor Reviews
From the Back Cover Miyole has made mistakes. The first was lying about her age to secure a spot on a Deep Sound Research Institute mission to the edges of known space. The second was failing to stop the pirates who attacked her ship and destroyed a smaller vessel before her eyes. The third was falling in love with Cassia. In the wake of the attack, Miyole finds herself drawn in to a reckless quest to rescue Cassia's brother. Along with a meddling pilot caught up in their plans, the girls fight their way through criminal dens, abandoned space stations, and the harsh oceans of an ice-bound moon. Soon, the reality Miyole has so carefully constructed for herself begins to crumble. Can she trust Cassia? Is the DSRI everything they say? Can she control the memories of a past she has struggled so hard to forget? And most of all, can she bear the cost?
From the front Cover Miyole has made mistakes. The first was lying about her age to secure a spot on a Deep Sound Research Institute mission to the edges of known space. The second was failing to stop the pirates who attacked her ship and destroyed a smaller vessel before her eyes. The third was falling in love with Cassia. In the wake of the attack, Miyole finds herself drawn in to a reckless quest to rescue Cassia's brother. Along with a meddling pilot caught up in their plans, the girls fight their way through criminal dens, abandoned space stations, and the harsh oceans of an ice-bound moon. Soon, the reality Miyole has so carefully constructed for herself begins to crumble. Can she trust Cassia? Is the DSRI everything they say? Can she control the memories of a past she has struggled so hard to forget? And most of all, can she bear the cost? --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Frequently Asked Questions About Sound