The Heartless Stone: A Journey Through the World of Diamonds, Deceit, and Desire
ISBN: 0312339704
EAN13: 9780312339708
Language: English
Pages: 340
Dimensions: 1.00" H x 8.00" L x 6.00" W
Weight: 1.00 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Publisher:
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: New

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: New

$19.00
Quantity
122 Available

Select Conditions
  • New $19.00 The Heartless Stone: A Journey Through the World of Diamonds, Deceit, and Desire
Book Overview
An adventure story in the tradition of Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief, The Heartless Stone is a voyage into the cold heart of the world's most unyielding gem. When he proposed to his girlfriend, Tom Zoellner gave what is expected of every American man--a diamond engagement ring. But when the relationship broke apart, he was left with a used diamond that began to haunt him. His obsession carried him around the globe, from the blood diamond rings of Africa; to the sweltering polishing factories of India; to mines above the Arctic Circle; to illegal diggings in Brazil; to the London headquarters of De Beers, the secretive global colossus that has dominated the industry for more than a century and permanently carved the phrase A diamond is forever on the psyche. The Heartless Stone goes beyond investigative reporting into the regions of the human heart that make the diamond empire possible. It has been called a dazzling display of intrepid reporting ( Entertainment Weekly ) and an illuminating expose of a mineral and an industry ( The Wall Street Journal ). An American Library Association Notable Book

Frequently Asked Questions About The Heartless Stone: A Journey Through the World of Diamonds, Deceit, and Desire

What should you read after The Heartless Stone: A Journey Through the World of Diamonds, Deceit, and Desire? Here is a list of books to read if you read and loved The Heartless Stone: A Journey Through the World of Diamonds, Deceit, and Desire