The Jetsetters
ISBN: 039918189X
EAN13: 9780399181894
Language: English
Publication Date: February 4, 2020
Pages: 352
Dimensions: 0.88" H x 8.25" L x 5.50" W
Weight: 1.07 lbs.
Format: Hardcover
Book Overview
Dysfunctional family goes away together on a Mediterranean cruise: What's not to love? This novel fell squarely in my wheelhouse and I was delighted anew in every port. The Jetsetters is fun, sexy, and engrossing.--Elin Hilderbrand, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Summer of '69 What a joy --Andrew Sean Greer, New York Times bestselling and Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Less When seventy-year-old Charlotte Perkins submits a sexy essay to the Become a Jetsetter contest, she dreams of reuniting her estranged children: Lee, an almost-famous actress; Cord, a handsome Manhattan venture capitalist who can't seem to find a partner; and Regan, a harried mother who took it all wrong when Charlotte bought her a Weight Watchers gift certificate for her birthday. Charlotte yearns for the years when her children were young, when she was a single mother who meant everything to them. When she wins the contest, the family packs their baggage--both literal and figurative--and spends ten days traveling from sun-drenched Athens through glorious Rome to tapas-laden Barcelona on an over-the-top cruise ship, the Splendido Marveloso . As lovers new and old join the adventure, long-buried secrets are revealed and old wounds are reopened, forcing the Perkins family to confront the forces that drove them apart and the defining choices of their lives. Can four lost adults find the peace they've been seeking by reconciling their childhood aches and coming back together? In the vein of The Nest and The Vacationers , The Jetsetters is a delicious and intelligent novel about the courage it takes to reveal our true selves, the pleasures and perils of family, and how we navigate the seas of adulthood.