The Letters of Samuel Beckett: Volume 4, 1966-1989
ISBN: 0521867967
EAN13: 9780521867962
Language: English
Pages: 942
Dimensions: 2.00" H x 9.00" L x 6.00" W
Weight: 3.00 lbs.
Format: Hardcover
Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: New


Format: Hardcover

Condition: New

529 Available

Select Conditions
  • New $44.99 The Letters of Samuel Beckett: Volume 4, 1966-1989
Book Overview
This fourth and final volume, which completes the Cambridge edition of The Letters of Samuel Beckett, covers the final twenty-four years of what was, as Beckett saw it, a surprisingly long life. During these years he produced many of his finest and most concentrated works for theatre, plays that included Not I, Ohio Impromptu, and Catastrophe; for television he wrote Eh Joe and Ghost Trio; while in prose, he produced the late 'trilogy' that comprises Company, Ill Seen Ill Said, and Worstward Ho. In 1969, Beckett was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature, and the letters from this period show him struggling to cope with the pressures created by his ever-growing international fame. The letters reveal how, later, he turned his mind to his legacy, as seen through his interactions with biographers and archivists. This volume also provides chronologies, explanatory notes, translations, and profiles of Beckett's chief correspondents.

Frequently Asked Questions About The Letters of Samuel Beckett: Volume 4, 1966-1989

Book Reviews (0)

  |   0  reviews
Did you read The Letters of Samuel Beckett: Volume 4, 1966-1989? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review

No customer reviews for the moment.