The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and Home
ISBN: 0062086448
EAN13: 9780062086440
Language: English
Publication Date: May 31, 2011
Pages: 368
Dimensions: 1.18" H x 6.69" L x 4.17" W
Weight: 0.40 lbs.
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Publisher:

The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and Home

Book Overview
Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act. -- James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely returns to offer a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest , and Malcolm Gladwell's Blink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights in The Upside of Irrationality.
Editor Reviews
From the Back Cover How can large bonuses sometimes make CEOs less productive? Why is revenge so important to us? How can confusing directions actually help us? Why is there a difference between what we think will make us happy and what really makes us happy? In his groundbreaking book, Predictably Irrational , social scientist Dan Ariely revealed the multiple biases that lead us to make unwise decisions. Now, in The Upside of Irrationality , he exposes the surprising negative and positive effects irrationality can have on our lives. Focusing on our behaviors at work and in relationships, he offers new insights and eye-opening truths about what really motivates us on the job, how one unwise action can become a long-term bad habit, how we learn to love the ones we're with, and more. The Upside of Irrationality will change the way we see ourselves at work and at home--and cast our irrational behaviors in a more nuanced light.