The Virgin's Daughter: A Tudor Legacy Novel
ISBN: 0804179360
EAN13: 9780804179362
Language: English
Pages: 368
Dimensions: 1.00" H x 8.00" L x 5.00" W
Weight: 1.00 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Book Overview
Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, The Virgin's Daughter is the first book in a captivating new saga about the next generation of Tudor royals, which poses the thrilling question: What if Elizabeth I, the celebrated Virgin Queen, gave birth to a legitimate heir? Since the death of her brother, William, Elizabeth I has ruled England. She's made the necessary alliances, married Philip of Spain, and produced a successor: her only daughter, Anne Isabella, Princess of Wales. Elizabeth knows that her beloved Anabel will be a political pawn across Europe unless she can convince Philip to grant her a divorce, freeing him to remarry and give Spain its own heir. But the enemies of England have even greater plans for the princess, a plot that will put Anabel's very life and the security of the nation in peril. Only those closest to Elizabeth--her longtime confidante Minuette, her advisor and friend Dominic, and the couple's grown children--can be trusted to carry forth a most delicate and dangerous mission. Yet, all of the queen's maneuverings may ultimately prove her undoing. Praise for The Virgin's Daughter Thrilling . . . Laura Andersen's] characters are well imagined and consistent, especially the Tudor siblings. . . . The Virgin's Daughter ] balances action and plot with emotion and character development. . . . One of the best things about alternative history is that you don't know what will happen next, and Andersen takes full advantage of that fact. -- The Roanoke Times The plot includes many threads, yet they are weaved together flawlessly. Andersen brilliantly blends the history and historical characters we know into her wondrous new world. -- RT Book Reviews Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.