We Dream of Space
ISBN: 0062747304
EAN13: 9780062747303
Language: English
Pages: 400
Dimensions: 2.00" H x 8.00" L x 6.00" W
Weight: 1.00 lbs.
Format: Hardcover

We Dream of Space

by
$13.27
List Price: $16.99
Save: $3.72 (21%)
Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Good

$13.27
List Price: $16.99
Save: $3.72 (21%)
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 2 at this price.

Select Conditions
  • Good $13.27 We Dream of Space
  • New $16.99 We Dream of Space
Book Overview
A Newbery Honor Book - BookPage Best Books - Chicago Public Library Best Fiction - Goodreads Choice Awards Nominee - Horn Book Fanfare - New York Times Notable Children's Book - School Library Journal Best Book - Today Show Pick - An ALA Notable Book A 10 out of 10 . . . Anyone interested in science, sibling relationships, and friendships will enjoy reading We Dream of Space .-- Time for Kids Newbery Medalist and New York Times -bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly transports readers to 1986 and introduces them to the unforgettable Cash, Fitch, and Bird Nelson Thomas in this pitch-perfect middle grade novel about family, friendship, science, and exploration. This acclaimed Newbery Honor Book is a great choice for readers of Kate DiCamillo, Rita Williams-Garcia, and Rebecca Stead. Cash, Fitch, and Bird Nelson Thomas are three siblings in seventh grade together in Park, Delaware. In 1986, as the country waits expectantly for the launch of the space shuttle Challenger , they each struggle with their own personal anxieties. Cash, who loves basketball but has a newly broken wrist, is in danger of failing seventh grade for the second time. Fitch spends every afternoon playing Major Havoc at the arcade on Main and wrestles with an explosive temper that he doesn't understand. And Bird, his twelve-year-old twin, dreams of being NASA's first female shuttle commander, but feels like she's disappearing. The Nelson Thomas children exist in their own orbits, circling a tense and unpredictable household, with little in common except an enthusiastic science teacher named Ms. Salonga. As the launch of the Challenger approaches, Ms. Salonga gives her students a project--they are separated into spacecraft crews and must create and complete a mission. When the fated day finally arrives, it changes all of their lives and brings them together in unexpected ways. Told in three alternating points of view, We Dream of Space is an unforgettable and thematically rich novel for middle grade readers. We Dream of Space is illustrated throughout by the author.

Frequently Asked Questions About We Dream of Space

Book Reviews (0)

0
  |   0  reviews
Did you read We Dream of Space? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha

No customer reviews for the moment.