A Little History Of Philosophy
  • A Little History Of Philosophy
  • A Little History Of Philosophy
  • A Little History Of Philosophy
ISBN: 0300152086
EAN13: 9780300152081
Language: English
Pages: 260
Dimensions: 1.18" H x 8.58" L x 5.67" W
Weight: 1.5 lbs.
Format: Hardcover
Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Good

$8.26
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.

Select Conditions
  • Good $8.26 A Little History Of Philosophy
Book Overview

For readers of E. H. Gombrich's A Little History of the World, an equally irresistible volume that brings history's greatest philosophers to life

A primer in human existence: philosophy has rarely seemed so lucid, so important, so worth doing and so easy to enter into. . . . A wonderful introduction for anyone who's ever felt curious about almost anything.--Sarah Bakewell, author of How To Live: A Life of Montaigne in One Question and Twenty Attempts at an Answer

Philosophy begins with questions about the nature of reality and how we should live. These were the concerns of Socrates, who spent his days in the ancient Athenian marketplace asking awkward questions, disconcerting the people he met by showing them how little they genuinely understood. This engaging book introduces the great thinkers in Western philosophy and explores their most compelling ideas about the world and how best to live in it.

In forty brief chapters, Nigel Warburton guides us on a chronological tour of the major ideas in the history of philosophy. He provides interesting and often quirky stories of the lives and deaths of thought-provoking philosophers from Socrates, who chose to die by hemlock poisoning rather than live on without the freedom to think for himself, to Peter Singer, who asks the disquieting philosophical and ethical questions that Read More chevron_right

Frequently Asked Questions About A Little History Of Philosophy

Little History Series In Order - By Nigel Warburton

Book Reviews (0)

0
  |   0  reviews
Did you read A Little History Of Philosophy? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha

No customer reviews for the moment.