• A (Very) Short History of Life on Earth: 4.6 Billion Years in 12 Pithy Chapters
  • A (Very) Short History of Life on Earth: 4.6 Billion Years in 12 Pithy Chapters
ISBN: 1250276659
EAN13: 9781250276650
Language: English
Release Date: Nov 2, 2021
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

A (Very) Short History of Life on Earth: 4.6 Billion Years in 12 Pithy Chapters

by
$24.99
Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: New

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: New

$24.99
Quantity
95 Available

Select Conditions
  • New $24.99 A (Very) Short History of Life on Earth: 4.6 Billion Years in 12 Pithy Chapters
Book Overview

In the tradition of Richard Dawkins, Bill Bryson, and Simon Winchester--An entertaining and uniquely informed narration of Life's life story.

In the beginning, Earth was an inhospitably alien place--in constant chemical flux, covered with churning seas, crafting its landscape through incessant volcanic eruptions. Amid all this tumult and disaster, life began. The earliest living things were no more than membranes stretched across microscopic gaps in rocks, where boiling hot jets of mineral-rich water gushed out from cracks in the ocean floor.

Although these membranes were leaky, the environment within them became different from the raging maelstrom beyond. These havens of order slowly refined the generation of energy, using it to form membrane-bound bubbles that were mostly-faithful copies of their parents--a foamy lather of soap-bubble cells standing as tiny clenched fists, defiant against the lifeless world. Life on this planet has continued in much the same way for millennia, adapting to literally every conceivable setback that living organisms could encounter and thriving, from these humblest beginnings to the thrilling and unlikely story of ourselves.

In A (Very) Short History of Life on Earth, Henry Gee zips through the last 4.6 billion years with infectious enthusiasm and intellectual rigor. Drawing on the very latest scientific understanding and writing in a clear, accessible style, he tells an enlightening tale of survival and persistence that illuminates the delicate balance within which life has always existed.

Frequently Asked Questions About A (Very) Short History of Life on Earth: 4.6 Billion Years in 12 Pithy Chapters

Book Reviews (0)

0
  |   0  reviews
Did you read A (Very) Short History of Life on Earth: 4.6 Billion Years in 12 Pithy Chapters? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha

No customer reviews for the moment.