Akata Witch
  • Akata Witch
  • Akata Witch
ISBN: 0142420913
EAN13: 9780142420911
Language: English
Release Date: Jul 11, 2017
Pages: 384
Dimensions: 1" H x 8.25" L x 5.5" W
Weight: 0.73 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Publisher:
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Good

$2.99
List Price: $12.99
Save: $10 (76%)
Quantity
27 Available
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Good $2.99 Akata Witch
  • Acceptable $2.99 Akata Witch
  • New $12.99 Akata Witch
Book Overview

Nnedi Okorafor writes glorious futures and fabulous fantasies. Her characters take your heart and squeeze it; her worlds open your mind to new things. -- Neil Gaiman, author of The Graveyard Book and American Gods

Affectionately dubbed the Nigerian Harry Potter, Akata Witch weaves together a heart-pounding tale of magic, mystery, and finding one's place in the world. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone

Sunny Nwazue lives in Nigeria, but she was born in New York City. Her features are West African, but she's albino. She's a terrific athlete, but can't go out into the sun to play soccer. There seems to be no place where she fits in. And then she discovers something amazing--she is a free agent with latent magical power. And she has a lot of catching up to do.
Soon she's part of a quartet of magic students, studying the visible and invisible, learning to change reality. But as she's finding her footing, Sunny and her friends are asked by the magical authorities to help track down a career criminal who knows magic, too. Will their training be enough to help them combat a threat whose powers greatly outnumber theirs?
World Fantasy Award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor blends magic and adventure to create a lush world. Her writing has been called stunning by The New York Times and her fans include Read More chevron_right

Frequently bought together

Total price: $10.46

Add all 3 to Cart Add all 3 to list

Frequently Asked Questions About Akata Witch

Akata Witch Series In Order - By Nnedi Okorafor

Book Reviews (11)

5
  |   11  reviews
Did you read Akata Witch? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
5
   Engaging
From beginning to end, I loved it! Anything that can keep this 55 year old single woman from watching Hulu and Netflix must be good cause even a man can not do that! I love the way the author writes because she not only keeps me entertained, but inspires me to learn about some of the things she writes. There is some truth in everything, to include Sci-fi and horror and that is what makes me want to learn. The mistake I made was not ordering all 3 books at the same time in this series. However, I ordered and ordered the last two and just the one. I have read other books by Nnedi before and I've YET to be disappointed! As long as she keeps writing, I'll keep reading.
 
5
   Good Read
This pulled me in with better writing than I expected. No, I read the others in this series and look for other books by the author.
 
5
   Page turner
It kept me interested the whole time. I loved the fact that she used words from the African tongue and I loved how different it was.
 
5
   Get it, you won’t regret it!
My new favourite book is Harry Potter! The pure imagination is literally out of this world. This book is fantastic.
 
5
   A Joy! I Want More!
I can 't wait to read the entire series. I read all the Binti books and am beginning this one. I am excited to see what this author does next!
 
5
   Needed addition to the over saturated sci-fi fantasy genre
Such a fantastic intro to a different kind of the coming of age story. I love that this gives the perspective of an underrepresented group of people in the Science - Fiction - Fantasy. It is also an African look into intriguing culture.
 
5
   As with all great literature, it is important to have empathy and a vigorous critical spirit to appreciate this book fully.
There was nothing about Akata Witch that I did not like. The one thing that might concern some readers a little is that a little tangent that little insight was given into the protagonist's father and why he seemed so irritated and unfriendly towards his own daughter. His worry about her being albino might explain it to some extent, as would maybe an unconscious fear that she would follow in the footsteps of her maternal grandmother? Despite this short lack of clarity, I think that this book is a masterpiece of literature for young people. As with all good books, it is splendid reading for children of all ages. The book is exquisitely conceived and so elegantly executed. It is inspired by and inspired by.
 
5
   Fresh air
I love the characters and their flaws and the setting is a fresh one for most US readers in Africa. The magic system is detailed and compelling.
 
4
   Solid African Fantasy
You don 't realize how overwhelmingly Western fantasy is until you read a non-western fantasy story. There is magic and mentors, secret histories and prophecies and children coming of age as they discover their power. It is not for children, but it is not either overly dark. The conclusion is set for a follow-up book clearly. I check this book out for sure.
 
3
   Disappointed
Ok, I liked this book, but it has a major flaw. Then you get to the pinnacle, and it hurries through things sloppily and ignoring issues that the book has set up, wraps things up in a too pat manner. Oh, the prophecy says that the Nimm Princess will be in great danger in this Battle of Nah. Nevermind, I think. Oh you are untutored and raw, but you will just waltz up to this epic, ancient badness, literally say Boo! ... and... that is IT? Instead, read Zahra the Windseeker.
 
12