ISBN: 1594634726
EAN13: 9781594634727
Language: English
Release Date: Sep 27, 2016
Pages: 304
Dimensions: 0.9" H x 8.2" L x 5.4" W
Weight: 0.5 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Good

$4.68
List Price: $17
Save: $12.32 (72%)
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 3 at this price.
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Good $4.68 Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear
  • New $17.00 Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear
Book Overview

This Description may be from another edition of this product.

The instant #1 NEW YORK TIMES Bestseller

A must read for anyone hoping to live a creative life. I dare you not to be inspired to be brave, to be free, and to be curious. --PopSugar

From the worldwide bestselling author of Eat Pray Love and City of Girls the path to the vibrant, fulfilling life you've dreamed of.

Readers of all ages and walks of life have drawn inspiration and empowerment from Elizabeth Gilbert's books for years. Now this beloved author digs deep into her own generative process to share her wisdom and unique perspective about creativity. With profound empathy and radiant generosity, she offers potent insights into the mysterious nature of inspiration. She asks us to embrace our curiosity and let go of needless suffering. She shows us how to tackle what we most love, and how to face down what we most fear. She discusses the attitudes, approaches, and habits we need in order to live our most creative lives. Balancing between soulful spirituality and cheerful pragmatism, Gilbert encourages us to uncover the strange jewels that are hidden within each of us. Whether we are looking to write a book, make art, find new ways to address challenges in our work, embark on a dream long deferred, or simply infuse our everyday lives with more mindfulness and passion, Big Magic cracks open a world of wonder and joy.

Frequently Asked Questions About Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear

What should you read after Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear Book? Here is a list of books to read if you read and loved Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear

Book Reviews (13)

4
  |   13  reviews
Did you read Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
5
   self-help/creativity
I love this book! I often spent time rereading chapters that truly made sense to me and, more important, stirred the creativity I didn't know was still inside me. Elizabeth Gilbert's personal chat with you along the way, made it so easy to understand how important it is to welcome your creativity, nurture it, or even better let it inspire you to live those creative moments without hesitation or distrust. I will definitely reread this book whenever I feel the need to kick myself in the butt and get back on track
 
5
   Best book on creativity!
I was drawn to creativity and read every book and article I could find. If you want to understand Big Magic and what to expect from it, you need to read Big Magic. Making your financial living from your art is work, it isn't easy like the creative flow. It's not fun. I recommend this book to anyone who is a writer, painter, or creative.
 
2
   Maybe my expectations for this book were too high?
After hearing so many good things about this book and having enjoyed Eat, Pray, Love more than I thought, I was optimistic about this one. Gilbert's ideas about creativity seemed to be conflicting and left me uninspired. I think that creativity is divine. Ion and Aquinas agree on this. God is the ultimate creator and we only create because of him. I don't think Gilbert believes in this, but her ideas don't exclude it. I wish she wouldn't have felt the need to make creativity into something that is fluid and portable.
 
4
   I needed this
It all made sense until I had to apply it, when I decided to finally put creativity into a reality. By reading Elizabeth Gilbert's book, I will keep going for my dream. I will approach it differently and not worry about the end result or how people will view it or if people will read or look at my work. I will do it for myself, no monetary goal, just to let it flow and feel the joy of accomplishment. The book is an easy read, inspiring in the stories shared and supportive, and empowering in the goals that I have set for myself.
 
1
   New tiny size paperback, typeface too small to read
I didn't think to check the size specifications for a book when I saw a trade paperback so small. The publisher has created a shrunken paperback that is so small my eyes would not be able to read it without a magnifying glass.
 
1
   Run as far as you can from this
I would like to give this book zero stars. I've never read an author who was so full of herself. She tried to glamorize her immature and self absorbed behavior. This doesn't have anything to do with creativity or living. The book has a lot of explanations of why you have the right to hurt people because you are a creative person and because you think you are above everyone else. If you want someone to stop talking to you, give them this book as a gift. That's terrible!
 
1
   Woof, this was not for me
I wanted to start the chapter on fire. The writing was bad. I can see how much this means to others. This book is perfect for fans of Eat, Pray, Love. Don't walk away from the book.
 
5
   Doing what pleases you can be Magical!
I adore Elizabeth Gilbert. She's funny and full of wisdom. I hesitated to write because I thought I had to have talent, set goals and purpose, but this book gave me permission to do it, which is something I've been wanting to do. Wrong. If you don't grab onto it when the opportune moment presents itself, this little devil can be a lot of fun. The book helps you get rid of all the excuses for not starting and gives you permission to do anything you love doing because it makes you happy.
 
4
   Perfect book to keep me motivated on my creative journey
This book made me want to continue writing. The section on how college education was not valuable in the creative life was not something I liked. I am learning a lot while I am working on my Creative Writing degree. The editing of my writing makes me feel better. I recommend this book to anyone interested in the arts.
 
5
   Best book I've read this year
When you need it, some books come into your life. It was definitely one of those for me. It is intelligent, funny, and related. I have never read anything by Elizabeth Gilbert, but this was a treat. It made me realize that creative living is much bigger than I thought. The impulse to put everything into them is not helpful. They can be turned into dead weights if too much pressure is put on them. Marcus Aurelius was worried that he would not write like Plato. I will read it again and again. It is the best book I have read all year.
 
12