Brat: An '80s Story
  • Brat: An '80s Story
  • Brat: An '80s Story
  • Brat: An '80s Story
  • Brat: An '80s Story
ISBN: 1538754274
EAN13: 9781538754276
Language: English
Release Date: May 11, 2021
Pages: 224
Dimensions: 1" H x 9" L x 6" W
Weight: 1.737243 lbs.
Format: Hardcover
`
Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Good

$4.39
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Good $4.39 Brat: An '80s Story
Book Overview

Fans of Patti Smith's Just Kids and Rob Lowe's Stories I Only Tell My Friends will love this beautifully written, entertaining, and emotionally honest memoir by an actor, director, and author who found his start as an 80s Brat pack member.
Most people know Andrew McCarthy from his movie roles in Pretty in Pink, St. Elmo's Fire, Weekend at Bernie's, and Less than Zero, and as a charter member of Hollywood's Brat Pack. That iconic group of ingenues and heartthrobs included Rob Lowe, Molly Ringwald, Emilio Estevez, and Demi Moore, and has come to represent both a genre of film and an era of pop culture. In his memoir Brat: An '80s Story, McCarthy focuses his gaze on that singular moment in time. The result is a revealing look at coming of age in a maelstrom, reckoning with conflicted ambition, innocence, addiction, and masculinity. New York City of the 1980s is brought to vivid life in these pages, from scoring loose joints in Washington Square Park to skipping school in favor of the dark revival houses of the Village where he fell in love with the movies that would change his life. Filled with personal revelations of innocence lost to heady days in Hollywood with John Hughes and an iconic cast of characters, Brat is a surprising and intimate story of an outsider caught up in a most unwitting success.

Frequently Asked Questions About Brat: An '80s Story

Book Reviews (14)

5
  |   14  reviews
Did you read Brat: An '80s Story? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
5
   enlightening
Such an honest and open recollection of life and all he did to be where he is today. “Brat ” is a very well written history of life in the 80s. After reading a few chapters, I sometimes felt like I was retelling a movie or documentary. So, I know that I have done it all the way I know.
 
5
   Lovely story
Brat Pack was my 80s Andrew McCarthy crush, so it was a delight to read his fun, insightful book. A really poignant look back at a life ruined by fame, but not changed by it. Wonderfully written read that will take GenXers back to their high school and college years.
 
5
   Humble Human Being
When I was a child in the 80s, I had a huge crush on Andrew McCarthy! I loved the shy character he played especially in Pretty in Pink! I had no idea who is exactly who he is. I think that is why I like him, because we have a lot of things in common with shyness, anxiety, and fear! I loved it! So much of it is book. To hear his voice narrate the story as I read it along was awesome! To know that he is this humble human being, speaking volumes to me! I loved the story truly!
 
5
   An insightful, refreshingly objective autobiography.
This is not a behind the scenes - recounting of the author's various films, but more poignantly a recounting of his emotional roller coaster as he enters adulthood and confronts the challenges of celebrity and an emerging career. Written very well, this is very important.
 
5
   I Couldn’t Put It Down
Andrew McCarthy's writing is as sparkling as his presence on the screen. Molly Ringwald said it best, That's the kind of guy I would fall for. '' His honesty and depth about his life and struggles with alcohol and drugs is refreshing and inspirational. This book is for reading.
 
5
   Loved it!!!
It was a pleasure to read and recalled memories of watching Andrew's early films and my life at the time when we are close in age. You are a skilled story teller and actor and I enjoyed reading about your life and experiences.
 
4
   A Must Read for Andrew McCarthy fans
Andrew has the ability to draw you in and captivate you as you read about the exploits of his youth. I have followed his career from Class onwards and enjoyed thoroughly the behind the scene info he shares. He will always be a favorite of mine, even more so now that he lets us in to see the imperfections.
 
1
   Boring
The book spends its time discussing how Mr. McCarthy was an alcoholic who drank to control his social anxiety. Among his peers, he seems to have been an outsider, so there is no insider look at celebrity life. He seems like a nice average guy, but as far as an 80's celebrity memoir, Rob Lowe's book was much better.
 
5
   Wonderful Insightful and Honest Book!
Could not put it down, the honesty he spoke about his childhood, his struggles, his persona as a whole has only solidified that he is deep thinking and caring man, much like the characters he played! This book is highly recommended! Thank you Andrew for helping me relive the 80s through your eyes.
 
5
   Beautiful and touching retelling of the 80’s fame experience!
For me, this book was an interesting read. I'm already a huge fan of Andrew McCarthy, but I am 40 years old, so I was 2 when he appeared in his first film class. I didn 't grow up to enjoy his films until I was a teenager in the 90's. His onscreen performances left me a great impression through the years, but reading this book was a great revelation. The private stories and moments in his life during the 80's are beautifully told and had me hanging on every word. I recommend this book to those who were little late to the film era of “John Hughes 80 ”. Is life wild and interesting! Amazing book by Andrew McCarthy!
 
12