Calling My Name
  • Calling My Name
  • Calling My Name
ISBN: 0062656864
EAN13: 9780062656865
Language: English
Release Date: Oct 24, 2017
Pages: 320
Dimensions: 1.3" H x 8.39" L x 5.91" W
Weight: 0.65 lbs.
Format: Hardcover
Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: Acceptable

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Acceptable

$4.08
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Acceptable $4.08 Calling My Name
Book Overview

Calling My Name is a treasure.--Nic Stone, New York Times-bestselling author of Dear Martin

Calling My Name is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self--ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros.

This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, Texas, and deftly and beautifully explores the universal struggles of growing up, battling family expectations, discovering a sense of self, and finding a unique voice and purpose.

Told in fifty-three short, episodic, moving, and iridescent chapters, Calling My Name follows Taja on her journey from middle school to high school. Literary and noteworthy, this is a beauty of a novel that captures the multifaceted struggle of finding where you belong and why you matter.

Frequently bought together

Total price: $11.84

Add all 3 to Cart Add all 3 to list

Frequently Asked Questions About Calling My Name

Book Reviews (7)

5
  |   7  reviews
Did you read Calling My Name? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
5
   Wow I am shook!!!
When I began reading this book, I was not very serious until I reached the 3rd chapter haha, but I told my mom that it was a very interesting, intriguing, funny, soul warming,sad,happy, graphic focusing! !10010 would recommend and I wish this amazing writer would do nothing but the absolute best! Remain Strong ''!
 
3
   Underwhelmed
At first, I thought it was outside stress that kept me from really getting into it. Eventually, I came to the conclusion that the main character isn 't likable. This hindered me from connecting with the book. At times, the chapters seemed disjointed, so that I couldn t catch the rhythm of the story. For me, the ending was anticlimactic. For me, this was just not a good fit.
 
4
   Great coming of age story
This book is a religious coming of age story about an African American female who is trying to navigate the teenage years within a great family. The descriptors place you inside her heart and mind as she tries to understand her sexual, spiritual, and social feelings. Most of it was appropriate and helped in giving her the space to share her feelings. Her descriptions of some of her intimate moments and thoughts, however, left us both blushing because she was not quite there.
 
4
   Title doesn’t match
When I first started reading this book, I was confused about how the title went with the storyline. I still don 't feel as though the title went with Tajas story, but maybe I missed something while reading it. Literally, I appreciate reading about Taja growing up and the obstacles she faced. The boys being aloud to do things, while girls had a more stricter upbringing is definitely something I related to. Overall, a good story.
 
5
   A Wonderful Read for High School Ages
I bought several copies of this book, but my guided reading class consists of 5th and 6th grade students and the content was a bit mature for them. I, however, would recommend the book highly for older readers.
 
5
   Beautiful, Captivating, and Emotional
There is not another piece of literature on this Earth that is as beautiful, captivating and emotional as this. I have never read such wonderful, captivating and original writing. I have never understood so deep a character as Taja. Book speaks to me ''. In every respect, I want to write like Liara Tamani.
 
4
   Good Debut!
My family is not so religious that they force us to act accordingly. I experienced this on a deeper level, and Taja always feels like her family doesn 't understand her is something I know firsthand. I live like I felt a double life growing up. My paternal and maternal families are so different, and I still wonder how my mom and father ever crossed paths and created 3 children. Seriously, I had some doubts about this book before I started. They were started as soon as I was unfounded to read. Liara Tamani is very talented and this debut is nothing short of beautiful. The writing is so on point, and I am so glad that I read it.
 
1