Counting By 7s
  • Counting By 7s
  • Counting By 7s
  • Counting By 7s
ISBN: 014242286X
EAN13: 9780142422861
Language: English
Release Date: Sep 16, 2014
Pages: 416
Dimensions: 0.8" H x 7.5" L x 5" W
Weight: 0.65 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Publisher:
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Acceptable

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Acceptable

$2.99
List Price: $10.05
Save: $7.06 (70%)
Quantity
13 Available
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Acceptable $2.99 Counting By 7s
  • Good $2.99 Counting By 7s
  • Very Good $4.58 Counting By 7s
  • New $10.05 Counting By 7s
Book Overview

A New York Times Bestseller

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn't kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.

Suddenly Willow's world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

* Willow's story is one of renewal, and her journey of rebuilding the ties that unite people as a family will stay in readers' hearts long after the last page.--School Library Journal starred review

* A graceful, meaningful tale featuring a cast of charming, well-rounded characters who learn sweet--but never cloying--lessons about resourcefulness, community, and true resilience in the face of Read More chevron_right

Frequently bought together

Frequently Asked Questions About Counting By 7s

Book Reviews (16)

5
  |   16  reviews
Did you read Counting By 7s? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
5
   Totally sucks you in
This book really makes you feel for every character. Draws you in and you have to know what happens next to this poor genius girl.
 
5
   Best book on the 2015-16 Caudill list
The fifth nominee for fiction, Pauley Kilpatrick, was also a finalist for the Caudill Award. I listened to it on Audible and it loved so much that I wanted to have it on my shelf, too. A sweet story about misfits bringing out the best in each other, Crosby said.
 
5
   Any quirky kid would enjoy reading about what it is like to be different
Gifted students who don't fit in their own society are often absent from school. This story is about a girl whose parents got her and let her soar, Mills said. Her new extended family facilitates her needs and helps her live her life to the fullest. Any kid would enjoy reading about what it is like to be different, to be loved and to be missed.
 
5
   Love this spunky little girl!
Both are sad and funny at times. sad, happy, and healthy living!
 
5
   this was my favorite book from the entire school year
It was my favorite book from the entire school year. Since then, every student I've recommended it has loved it and recommended it to someone else. It's just that I keep two copies in my middle school library.
 
5
   This book starts off with a genius, outcast mc ...
The book starts with a genius, outcast and then her world falls apart. Please go on an emotional journey with Meaghan.
 
4
   Stick with it
I'm not a big fan of the beginning of the book. The sentence structure and tone of the main character seemed to me to be a bit too simplistic for a genius. It's a sweet little story mixed with absurd and realistic situations and people, Geragos said.
 
5
   Beautiful story...
A young widow helps her daughter cope with the grief of losing a loved one, writes Kate Willinwright in The New Republic. Throughout her journey, Willow learns how to survive and move on with the help of a very diverse group of people she barely knew prior to this tragic event. Along with the book's creator, I thought Goldberg Sloan's writing style was just beautiful. Switching from first-person to third-person perspective added a lot of depth to the plot, Tunick said. I devoured it with so many layers of genius, it kept me craving to pick it up. I recommend this book for not only young readers and up, but also to anyone who enjoys a moving story with diverse characters and a story line of dealing with being an outsider, as well as learning what it means to be a family, said Mary Scriven, Senior Vice President of Marketing for Simon & Schuster.
 
5
   Loved it!
Anthony Citrano, 7, has his first language learner's permit. Even if you are very smart, you still must find ways to relate with others who are different from you. It also shows how the different characters use their strengths together to solve problems. There are no villains, just a bad situation, McBride said.
 
3
   Unsatisfied
Too many loose ends to finish too fast, Tunick said. It was a total disaster, and I didn't love it. Lots of that could be discussed in depth, saving money vs living in a garage, becoming an orphan, the Vietnamese children of US servicemen, overstretched services for children in the public sector and the consequences that creates, cancer, mourning, saving money vs living in a garage, Mrs Clinton said. Very large book, probably 550 pages, so it read pretty quickly.
 
12