Daytripper
ISBN: 1401229697
EAN13: 9781401229696
Language: English
Release Date: Feb 8, 2011
Pages: 256
Dimensions: 0.7" H x 10.1" L x 6.6" W
Weight: 0.8 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Publisher:
Product is currently Out of Stock.
You can add it to your wishlist and you will be notified once we receive a copy.
Book Overview

The acclaimed Daytripper follows Bras de Olivias Dominguez during different periods in his life, each with the same ending: his death.

Daytripper follows the life of one man, Bras de Olivias Dominguez. Every chapter features an important period in Bras' life in exotic Brazil, and each story ends the same way: with his death. And then, the following story starts up at a different point in his life, oblivious to his death in the previous issue--and then also ends with him dying again. In every chapter, Bras dies at different moments in his life, as the story follows him through his entire existence--one filled with possibilities of happiness and sorrow, good and bad, love and loneliness. Each issue rediscovers the many varieties of daily life, in a story about living life to its fullest--because any of us can die at any moment.

Poignant, heartfelt and thoughtful, this comics landmark is one of the most transcendent pieces of graphic storytelling ever to hit the printed page. Brothers Fabio Moon and Gabriel Ba truly compose one of the industry's masterworks.

Frequently Asked Questions About Daytripper

Book Reviews (13)

5
  |   13  reviews
Did you read Daytripper? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
5
   Daytripper is a moving story about life
If you don 't read certain things because they are graphic novels or comics because they are for children, then you are missing out. I have read two in the past year, which easily stand up to some of the greatest non-graphic novels of all time. The first was Logicomix by Alexandros Doxiadis and Christos Papadimitriou, and now Daytripper by Gabriel Ba and Fabio Moon. Daytripper is the story of a man's life in the shadow of his father. He fights himself to escape the shadow of his father, make a name for himself, experience love and loss, while dying on each of his most important days of his life. His death always reveals something about how we assess our own lives, success and failures. It makes us look at our own situation to rethink our values and what we consider important or how we view our happiness. At the end, I was in tears.
 
5
   Best Graphic Novel I have ever read
Brazil - great art -- amazing taste. Makes me want to return there again. The story is great : It reveals the fragility and beauty of life.
 
5
   Incredible.
For fans of Borges, Calvino, and De Assis, this comic series is one of the best known, most beautiful and most touching graphic novels ever written. This comic is moving, heartbreaking, incredible... Words fail me completely.
 
5
   I only drink my coffee black now thanks to this book
This is one of the best books I have ever written and the reason I drink my coffee black now. As my first graphic novel, it inspired me to write a powerful story with beautiful imagery through the depths. Highly recommended.
 
4
   Life or something like it
Look at its comic version of Cats in the Cradle about its family time and its happenstance. The art is excellent and the storytelling pace is good. I thought that the first and last chapters were the best. Reading this hit me after 10 months of pandemic isolation in the back, but it was more of a cheap shot than a lasting impression.
 
1
   Great story but very poor quality book
The story itself is beautiful, but the quality of the materials used is very poor. The box that came in the book was minimally protected. The pages feel so good that it is almost like a newspaper quality. Also the ink quality is quite bad. Colors are so lost that the beauty of the artwork is muted. For a great work such as this, where I can see many people reappear over the years, the poor quality won 't hold well over multiple readings. Even the first reading experience would be dampened by a severe lack of quality material. I would recommend checking instocktrades. com for great novels at a cheaper price, better quality and graphic protection. Their shipping takes only 2nd down, I've returned this book.
 
5
   To be savored
Fabio Moon and Gabriel Bá's exploration of a Brazilian obituary writer's many possible lives is a beautiful reflection on life worth living as well as a meta-commentary on the nature of fiction. Rarely has a meta-fictive comic book been so poignant. Bras is a writer and his life continues to unravel and reroll for us. The nature of love, family, friendship, race and time are all explored here in ways one would not expect for the average graphic novel. Moon and Ba really take advantage of the format in ways that prove that graphic novels are their own form of art.
 
5
   multi-life fantasy
Five hundred twenty-five thousand six hundred minutes : How do you measure the life of a woman or a man? Johnathan Larson A beautiful multiverse look at life and all the ways it could go. Ba and Moon craft a beautiful world that answers the question of what-if at life's little moments turn out to be big. COuldn't help, but feels its connection to Wilder's Bridge of Saint Louis Rey with the way each chapter ends. Daytripper was one of the best, more profound comics I ever read.
 
5
   A lovely little book
A powerful and triumphant read. It is simple, complex, magical, real and moving. A graphic novel addition to the fantastic medium.
 
5
   Sad & Happy
Daytripper makes a close look at death and confronts several versions of the inevitable. You will often find yourself feeling happy for the lives that were taken and bewildered for the ones that were too soon. I had to take a break on a few of the stories because of how personal some of the stories were with parallel experiences. Don 't let that keep you from picking this up. Daytripper will become one of your favorites easily.
 
12