Dinosaur Lady: The Daring Discoveries Of Mary Anning, The First Paleontologist
  • Dinosaur Lady: The Daring Discoveries Of Mary Anning, The First Paleontologist
  • Dinosaur Lady: The Daring Discoveries Of Mary Anning, The First Paleontologist
  • Dinosaur Lady: The Daring Discoveries Of Mary Anning, The First Paleontologist
  • Dinosaur Lady: The Daring Discoveries Of Mary Anning, The First Paleontologist
  • Dinosaur Lady: The Daring Discoveries Of Mary Anning, The First Paleontologist
  • Dinosaur Lady: The Daring Discoveries Of Mary Anning, The First Paleontologist
  • Dinosaur Lady: The Daring Discoveries Of Mary Anning, The First Paleontologist
  • Dinosaur Lady: The Daring Discoveries Of Mary Anning, The First Paleontologist
  • Dinosaur Lady: The Daring Discoveries Of Mary Anning, The First Paleontologist
ISBN: 172820951X
EAN13: 9781728209517
Language: English
Release Date: Jul 7, 2020
Pages: 40
Dimensions: 0.3937008" H x 10.35433" L x 10.27559" W
Weight: 0.9479877 lbs.
Format: Hardcover

Dinosaur Lady: The Daring Discoveries Of Mary Anning, The First Paleontologist

Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: New

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: New

$17.99
Quantity
243 Available

Select Conditions
  • New $17.99 Dinosaur Lady: The Daring Discoveries Of Mary Anning, The First Paleontologist
Book Overview

A beautifully illustrated picture book biography of Mary Anning that will enlighten children about the discovery of the dinosaurs and the importance of female scientists, perfect for fans of The Girl Who Thought in Pictures

Mary Anning loved scouring the beach near her home in England for shells and fossils. She fearlessly climbed over crumbling cliffs and rocky peaks, searching for new specimens. One day, something caught Mary's eye.

Bones. Dinosaur Bones.

Mary's discoveries rocked the world of science and helped create a brand-new field of study: paleontology. But many people believed women couldn't be scientists, so Mary wasn't given the credit she deserved. Nevertheless, Mary kept looking and learning more, making discoveries that reshaped scientific beliefs about the natural world.

Educational backmatter includes a timeline of Mary Anning's life and lots of fantastic fossil facts

The perfect choice for parents and teachers looking for:
  • Dinosaur books for kids 5-7 and kids books about fossils
  • Feminist picture books about historical women, and daring books for girls
  • Kids STEM books
  • Frequently Asked Questions About Dinosaur Lady: The Daring Discoveries Of Mary Anning, The First Paleontologist

    Book Reviews (10)

    5
      |   10  reviews
    Did you read Dinosaur Lady: The Daring Discoveries Of Mary Anning, The First Paleontologist? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
    Write Review
    Captcha
    5
       Get this book!
    Great story, excellent illustrations, so good all round! Waiting for what are you waiting for? Add to Cart Cart! Click Add to Cart! '' You will not be sorry! I had no idea who was Mary Anning, and this story needs to be told to every little boy and girl. She literally discovered dinosaurs and nobody talks about them. The world needs to know her story, and this book is a great place to start! Incredible woman with incredible feats and achievements, the world needs to know her story, and this book is a great place to start! Get it now! Her story will no doubt be a source of inspiration for others. Storybook good for kids ages 2 to 8, good for kids ages 2 to 8. Has cardboard pages, not paper. Has cover jacket. High quality binding High quality printing High quality binding High quality binding High quality printing
     
    5
       Gift able, great, love it
    My 4.5 year old daughter came up to me and said that she wanted to be a scientist so had to become a boy so bought me a book (because if she wants to be a girl scientist that is and should be an option in her mind ). The pages are nicely heavy, the color is vividly printed. It is a beautiful book. It also uses beautiful vocabulary that is nice to read as an adult as well, which is also nice to read as an adult. She *scoured* the beach, etc. Very informative ''. My current favorite book of my 1 year old daughter is current and we read it 5 times a day. My 4.5 year old is in a stage where she read it once-move on phase. But she said she liked it when she read it.
     
    5
       Wonderful Read
    It arrived in the described condition and my daughter absolutely loves this book. We read it originally from the library, but we had to own a copy, as she saw so much in it herself. It is so nice to be able to point in the past to women and say : See, she loved and she changed things ''. SHE made history.
     
    5
       Great book!
    My 3 year old son loves this book absolutely. We read it every day for the last 2 weeks. I really like how well it is written and the vocabulary that can help expand his language development. It is basic enough for him to understand, but also has stretch '' words to help him grow.
     
    5
       Such a good book
    I got this book for my daughter for when we study a Dinosaur unit study, but she was so excited about it that she is already reading it. It is very informative about Mary Annings's life in a way that children can understand. It also has a timeline about her life in the back, and some facts about paleontology. I also lobe a book about a girl in a subject that is most associated with boys, I also lobe a book about a girl in a subject most associated with boys. She loves it!!! She loves it ''. My daughter is 6 and has a very curious child. This opened a great discussion about how far women have come and what the world uses for women like.
     
    5
       An educational page-turner! 10/10
    This book is absolutely amazing! It is educational while being entertaining and even as a parent, I could not put it down. It really makes you want to keep turning the pages, something which is rare in a children's book. The science '' was palatable to a 5 year old, but may be easier for someone around 8. That said, the explanations in the book were simple enough, while still challenging my five-year-old. She sat for the entire book, which has never happened before, and is a fairly long read! I can hardly recommend this highly enough and hope that the author writes many more books like it.
     
    5
       Adventure, science and girl power!
    This book is such an interesting adventure! It has great science history, dinosaurs, a female paleontologist and incredible artwork! Little guys and parents alike have fun for little guys and parents alike.
     
    5
       Absolutely Fascinating for Kids and Parents
    My 4 year old daughter is newly obsessed with dinosaurs and just beginning to understand the concepts of fossils and extinction. This book is a great introduction to paleontology and a famous scientist! She wants to read it again on repeat.
     
    5
       A great book for all aspiring paleontologist!
    I bought the Kindle edition for my 6 year old daughter and loved it so much that I read it four times before telling her to go to sleep! The information provided in each illustration is helpful to answer questions about what we are looking at and the illustrations themselves are so nice! We love that this woman finally gets her spotlight and my daughter was excited to learn that the very first paleontologist was a girl!
     
    5
       Scientist biography
    A great scientist biography for little children. It was nice to see a female finally get credit for her contribution to science. I would also like to see some books like this on male scientists. It is hard to find excellent science biographies paired with good illustrations. This book is a jewel and what child is not fascinated by fossils and dinosaurs?
     
    1