Do You Mind If I Cancel?: (Things That Still Annoy Me)
ISBN: 1250225825
EAN13: 9781250225825
Language: English
Release Date: Oct 22, 2019
Pages: 288
Dimensions: 1" H x 8.25" L x 5.38" W
Weight: 1.737243 lbs.
Format: Hardcover
Publisher:
`
Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: Very Good

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Very Good

$3.98
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Very Good $3.98 Do You Mind If I Cancel?: (Things That Still Annoy Me)
  • Good $3.98 Do You Mind If I Cancel?: (Things That Still Annoy Me)
Book Overview

The Instant New York Times Bestseller

From Family Guy to his own Instagram account, Janetti has been behind some of his generation's greatest comedy. This book of essays is no exception.
-- The New York Times

Fans of David Sedaris, Jenny Lawson, and Tina Fey. meet your new friend Gary Janetti.

Gary Janetti, the writer and producer for some of the most popular television comedies of all time, and creator of one of the most wickedly funny Instagram accounts there is, now turns his skills to the page in a hilarious, and poignant book chronicling the pains and indignities of everyday life.

Gary spends his twenties in New York, dreaming of starring on soap operas while in reality working at a hotel where he lusts after an unattainable colleague and battles a bellman who despises it when people actually use a bell to call him. He chronicles the torture of finding a job before the internet when you had to talk on the phone all the time, and fantasizes, as we all do, about who to tell off when he finally wins an Oscar. As Gary himself says, These are essays from my childhood and young adulthood about things that still annoy me.

Original, brazen, and laugh out loud funny, Do You Mind If I Cancel? is something not to be missed.

Frequently Asked Questions About Do You Mind If I Cancel?: (Things That Still Annoy Me)

Book Reviews (18)

4
  |   18  reviews
Did you read Do You Mind If I Cancel?: (Things That Still Annoy Me)? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
1
   Yuck!
I am not even sure what this was because it was not a book or a novel or even a story. Ramblings is all about the F bombs and too many F bombs.
 
2
   The rantings of a mad man
Run sentences are written badly with poorly written sentences. Like a child, Zig zigs all over the place like a child who can not stay focused. Thankfully, I completed the book quickly and thought, what was the point of all this? A few things made me laugh, but in general it was extremely disappointing.
 
1
   Meh.
To quote the author, the best I was usually able to roll was extreme eye-rolling. Just shy of being a cliche, she is a good thing. In case I missed something, I moved to the audiobook. NOPE : The author's hilarious narration did not help the content nor elevate what was supposed to be monotone. If this was not our book club reading, I would have stopped reading the first essay personally.
 
1
   Not my taste
I did not find it funny, witty, or even wise in the slightest.
 
3
   Listen to the audiobook
I enjoyed reading Janetti's book and listening to his own book. However, when I listened to the book, I noticed how often he uses the f-word. He is a much better, wittier writer to rely on such poor, unimaginative language. Essay writing seems to be new to him, and he doesn 't make the leap from gags and humorous lines to a comic style.
 
2
   Skip this one
Here I wished to be the one to say, “Don 't believe the bad reviews!”, but here I recommend to my friends who also love following Gary on Instagram to not waste their time with this book. The stories had no recurring theme for them and I learned nothing about Gary.
 
4
   Hilarious memoir that is worth the read.
They were raving about it and some of the quips had me laughing so I had to get it, and CaseyDanielle was not wrong. This is a quick read and a really funny one. Several times I was laughing out loud at Gary Janetti's memoir, told through stories. There were several that resonated with me, and the one that sticks the most is the letter he wrote to his younger self. If we knew that half of the stuff we worried about would turn out to be no big deal, how free would that be? The line that gets me tearing every time I think about it? To end on a happy note, the story One Life to Live is epic, mostly because that was my favorite soap opera, next to General Hospital, so I knew everything he was referring to. Also a whole story dedicated to Patti LuPone? Go out and get this book, it was just what I needed, and hopefully you will enjoy it too.
 
5
   Do not read this book in public :)
Don 't read in public, people will think you are insane, but in the best way possible. I have followed Gary since before he was verified, and have always appreciated his kind voice and view of perspective. I would recommend this book to anyone who is tired of the mill's comedic memoirs. I hope that more people read, especially younger folk trying to make sense of what identity and self means in our sometimes terrible society. Gary has been through a lot and hopefully he can now see how worthwhile sharing his experiences will be for folks everywhere. Gary, thank you! You continue to make me laugh every day through your book and Instagram account and I am forever grateful.
 
5
   It’s a slime volume packed with substance and no fluff.
It was fun and funny, I laughed in many places loud. The fact that the chapters were not arranged in chronological order made it interesting and showed how everything brought him to where he is in Gary's life. It is a slime volume packed with substance and no fluff.
 
5
   Fun read!
Before seeing this book, I had never heard of Gary Janetti. The title enticed me and I requested an ebook copy to read and review. After reading this book, I feel like I grew up with Gary and could be his friend. So many of the memories he wrote about resonated with me. He is such a funny and such a gifted writer, I wish he would have started writing sooner, as he kept saying throughout the book that he was a writer, but never actually wrote anything. Fun read, I will be looking for future books by Gary Janetti!
 
12