Girl In Pieces
  • Girl In Pieces
  • Girl In Pieces
ISBN: 1101934719
EAN13: 9781101934715
Language: English
Release Date: Aug 30, 2016
Pages: 416
Dimensions: 1.5" H x 8.58" L x 6.06" W
Weight: 1.15 lbs.
Format: Hardcover
Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: Acceptable

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Acceptable

$6.09
Quantity
6 Available

Select Conditions
  • Good $6.09 Girl In Pieces
  • Very Good $6.09 Girl In Pieces
  • Acceptable $6.09 Girl In Pieces
Book Overview

This Description may be from another edition of this product.

Fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places will love this New York Times bestseller.

A haunting, beautiful, and necessary book that will stay with you long after you've read the last page.--Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also a Star

Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she's already lost more than most people do in a lifetime. But she's learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don't have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.
Every new scar hardens Charlie's heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.
A deeply moving portrait of a girl in a world that owes her nothing, and has taken so much, and the journey she undergoes to put herself back together. Kathleen Glasgow's debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It's a story you won't be able to look away from.

Girl, Interrupted Read More chevron_right

Frequently bought together

Total price: $12.07

Add all 3 to Cart Add all 3 to list

Frequently Asked Questions About Girl In Pieces

Book Reviews (12)

4
  |   12  reviews
Did you read Girl In Pieces? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
5
   Read this book.
I really enjoyed this book. It conveys an important message and healing is possible in some parts. No matter how bad it gets or how much damage you do to yourself, there are people who care. Being understood and accepted is important in finding your tribe. In a world where shame is kept hidden, this book is a sign of light. I hope young women and men read this book and use it to heal.
 
1
   Not a good influence on young kids
Don't buy this for young kids, read some pages for yourself first. My daughter heard about this book and the sad journey of a girl with self harm and a tough child hood. When we got it, we decided not to let her have it. The book almost encourages kids to cut themselves because it gives the impression that it is an ok way to release anger or hurt. Almost everyone mentions cutting herself in one way or another in the majority of the pages. She made nicknames for herself for her abuse. It makes light out of a very serious situation. The other reviews should be read first. I am not sure how this is a NY best seller.
 
5
   Great!
I haven't finished the book yet, but it's really good I would definitely recommend it. There is little triggering if you have SH issues. The book was perfect quality.
 
1
   Awful
The person who wrote this cant read or write. The second chapter was very bad and couldn't get passed.
 
5
   Good book
The book helps realize how limited our mental health system is.
 
1
   Know what your children are reading.
My daughter started cutting herself after reading this book. Make sure you know what your kids are reading. I would like to go back and prevent this.
 
4
   Girl in pieces rocked me
The subject is difficult, but not represented in the books. Great writing and reading.
 
5
   Beautiful, heart wrenching story
This book was very good. I was pulled into it from the beginning. It was beautiful and raw. I would like to thank you for writing this story, as someone who has battled demons, I enjoy reading stories of others who have overcome theirs as well.
 
5
   Raw, brutal, real
The book is hard to read. More people should read that one. Charlie is so damaged that it makes you hurt deep in your heart and it does not flinch away from the reality of self- harm. I've read reviews that blame this book for encouraging or even glorifying cutting, and that's not right. The book dives into the sad reality that so many people live with every day. It doesn't hide the dark shadows, it isn't going to pretend that everything is fixed, and it isn't going to be sweet. It is well-written in the journal format, with some pages having just a few sentences and others having several pages. You feel like you're reading Charlie's thoughts and I couldn't imagine it being written in any other way.
 
5
   ... Charlie who has suffered through an incredible number of terrible events, and her attempts to navigate the real ...
The book is about a young woman named Charlie who has suffered through a lot of terrible events, and her attempts to navigate the real world while also trying to heal. I read this book. I read it in a day, even though the subject matter is very personal and intense. I cried a number of times but the writing is so good that you feel like you are Charlie and you feel what she feels. TW for rape, suicide, self- harm, drug abuse.
 
12