History Smashers: Women's Right To Vote
ISBN: 0593120345
EAN13: 9780593120347
Language: English
Release Date: Jul 7, 2020
Pages: 224
Dimensions: 0.5" H x 7.63" L x 5.19" W
Weight: 0.36 lbs.
Format: Paperback
`
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Very Good

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Very Good

$4.58
List Price: $8.79
Save: $4.21 (47%)
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Very Good $4.58 History Smashers: Women's Right To Vote
  • New $8.79 History Smashers: Women's Right To Vote
Book Overview

Myths Lies Secrets Smash the stories behind famous moments in history and expose the hidden truth. Perfect for fans of I Survived and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.

In 1920, Susan B. Anthony passed a law that gave voting rights to women in the United States. RIGHT?

WRONG Susan B. Anthony wasn't even alive when the Nineteenth Amendment was ratified. Plus, it takes a lot more than one person to amend the constitution.

The truth is, it took millions of women to get that amendment into law. They marched They picketed They even went to jail. But in the end, it all came down to a letter from a state representative's mom. No joke.

Through illustrations, graphic panels, photographs, sidebars, and more, acclaimed author Kate Messner smashes history by exploring the little-known details behind the fight for women's suffrage.

Don't miss History Smashers: The Mayflower

Frequently Asked Questions About History Smashers: Women's Right To Vote

Book Reviews (5)

5
  |   5  reviews
Did you read History Smashers: Women's Right To Vote? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
4
   Great information, be aware of audience age and older topics
Be prepared, however, to answer questions that pop up, should they come up like homosexual partners or racism. Both true, but larger topics that may need scaffolding or explanations before being handed over to a child if these topics haven t been brought up.
 
5
   Smashing History
Thank you NetGalley and Random House Children's books for young readers for sharing an eARC with me in exchange for an honest review. My 6th graders love history books and I am so glad that more non-fiction books are written with their audience in mind. Kate Messner tells the history of the women's fight for the right to vote in a very understanding way. She explains what has been left out, what has been taught and what to do to ensure that you get the full story in history. I like the illustrations and I know that my students will also be drawn to those. I am looking forward to reading the other books by History - Smashers.
 
5
   The Untold History of Women’s Rights to Vote
History Smashers : Women's right to vote is an interesting and thought provoking look at the suffrage movement. The book does an excellent job of not painting this movement as simplistic, but of showing different elements, sides and people, many of whom are overlooked when this subject is taught in a history book. Love how the writers weave in real life letters news articles and other media from that time in history that help bring out how real the right to vote was and why it was worth the fight.
 
5
   Fast-paced, and full of important information!
I read this book as a reader. I am a 40-something yo woman and I teared reading how persistent the women were before me for decades! To know how much of a fight it was to get the right to vote and how many incremental steps it took on the way. I bought this whole set for my 5th grade teacher so that she can have it in her classroom library.
 
5
   Fun way to learn about history!
It is full of information that is not traditionally taught in schools. I love conversational writing style. It is full of illustrations, photos, comic panels and interesting sidebars, making it very accessible to young readers. The author includes information about how amendments are added to our Constitution, how black people were treated during the process and so much more. This is such a fun way to learn history and I can 't wait to read more from the series!
 
1