• Measuring Up
  • Measuring Up
  • Measuring Up
  • Measuring Up
  • Measuring Up
  • Measuring Up
ISBN: 006297386X
EAN13: 9780062973863
Language: English
Release Date: Oct 27, 2020
Pages: 208
Dimensions: 0.511811" H x 7.913386" L x 5.472441" W
Weight: 0.8950768 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Publisher:

Measuring Up

by
$9.75
List Price: $12.99
Save: $3.24 (24%)
Select Format
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Good

$9.75
List Price: $12.99
Save: $3.24 (24%)
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.

Select Conditions
  • Good $9.75 Measuring Up
  • New $12.99 Measuring Up
Book Overview

This Description may be from another edition of this product.

For fans of American Born Chinese and Roller Girl, Measuring Up is an own voices graphic novel debut from Lily LaMotte and Ann Xu

A beautiful story about food, family, and finding your place in the world. --Gene Luen Yang, author of American Born Chinese and Dragon Hoops

A delicious and heartwarming exploration of identity by a young immigrant trying to find her place in multiple cultures. --Remy Lai, author of Pie in the Sky and Fly on the Wall

Twelve-year-old Cici has just moved from Taiwan to Seattle, and the only thing she wants more than to fit in at her new school is to celebrate her grandmother, A-m 's, seventieth birthday together.

Since she can't go to A-m , Cici cooks up a plan to bring A-m to her by winning the grand prize in a kids' cooking contest to pay for A-m 's plane ticket There's just one problem: Cici only knows how to cook Taiwanese food.

And after her pickled cucumber debacle at lunch, she's determined to channel her inner Julia Child. Can Cici find a winning recipe to reunite with A-m , a way to fit in with her new friends, and somehow find herself too? Read More chevron_right

Frequently Asked Questions About Measuring Up

Book Reviews (9)

5
  |   9  reviews
Did you read Measuring Up? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
5
   Fantastic!
I got this book for my second grader. The kids gobbled it up and kept re-reading it. This week I finally got around to read aloud the book they're talking about. I absolutely love this book. The storyline is great for audience of all ages, and a terrific book for parents to read aloud to their children, as there are some more advanced words and expressions to explain. If your kids enjoy cooking shows like Chopped, they will love this book. If your kid has no interest in food or cooking, read this to them and you may get them interested in it. Beyond all the fun, it's just a wonderful, positive story about family, friendship, perseverance and diversity, Crosby said. Don't miss the show! It's great to be back home, said Blair.
 
5
   GREAT READ!!!
This was a great book and I still want to re-read it! Cici moves to America from Taiwan, leaving her beloved grandmother behind. Only fitting in at school will give her the chance to visit her grandmother for her 70th birthday. Now that chance to enter a kids cooking contest is almost here. She also told the inquiry that she needed money to get a plane tickket. Besides, she had done so much cooking in Taiwan with her grandmother, Mrs. Daschle said. The problem is, the client has no problem with the printer. Cici doesn't know how to cook American food, and the judges won't like it. And when her dad finds out she's not studding, he forces her to quit and things turn upside down.
 
5
   My 10 YO Daughter LOVES this book!
This book is very good. My daughter is half Asian and half Caucasian, so I try to find books by authors with all sorts of backgrounds and world views. The book includes some universal themes -- self-awareness, an adolescent's desire to fit in and the special bond between grandmothers and granddaughters -- as well as those not typically found in middle-grade books such as immigrant experience and identity. The quality of the writing and the illustrations in Measuring Up are outstanding. Can't wait to see what this talented author and illustrator come up with next!
 
5
   This book teaches me so much!
Only in the past few weeks have we seen improvement, he said. I've read many, many, many books by this author. A Taiwanese girl is paired with an Italian girl at a cooking contest. The Taiwanese girl has been treated like a piece of meat, the source said. Everyone knows what he's talking about. That's what makes us special, Harrison said. What happens in the story? It's great to be back home, said Blair.
 
4
   Engaging graphic novel for readers of all ages!
A great realistic fiction graphic novel to add to my library. Cici enters a cooking contest to try to bring her grandmother over from Taiwan to celebrate her birthday. Cooking, family, friendship, identity and fitting in, all add up to one great story. The Review Crew is an Amazon. com publication.
 
5
   Second grader loves this book
Newcomer Tobe Obeid has no trouble picking up the format. I appreciate that the plot introduced her to another culture and she has a strong interest in cooking, Mr. Dhaliwal said.
 
5
   A beautiful story about the immigrant experience, filled with heart and hope.
One of the defining images of the immigrant experience was the anguished look at the broken shell of a loved one. The perfect companion for budding chefs or those seeking a story of friendship and family. It's a generational conflict that many immigrant families can relate to. It's a French curve, a blend of culture and language that shows how food really is the language of the world.
 
5
   Heartwarming, perfect for foodies!
Measuring Up is an excellent feel-good coming-of-age story which pays homage to the love between a granddaughter and her grandmother. It also tackles immigration, Asian culture, healthy female friendships, and of course, food. I've had several people recommend this book to others, and I'm thrilled with the outcome.
 
5
   Family fun with a cooking surprise!
Although not a fan of the graphic novels, I fell in love with the witty, irreverent story of two misfits trying to fit in and hold onto their own culture and beliefs. It's great to see the cooking contest scenes come back to life. Middle school students will be tempted by the food created by the two creative minds behind the book. The book's themes are subtle and authentic, without preaching. And, for the adults, there's the graphic novel MEASURING UP.
 
1