Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Mystery
ISBN: 0553593617
EAN13: 9780553593617
Language: English
Release Date: Apr 3, 2012
Pages: 384
Dimensions: 1" H x 7.9" L x 5.1" W
Weight: 0.6 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Publisher:
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Good

$3.98
List Price: $17
Save: $13.02 (76%)
Quantity
9 Available
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Good $3.98 Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Mystery
  • Very Good $4.08 Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Mystery
  • New $17.00 Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Mystery
Book Overview

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill's Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge--and the greatness that rose to meet it.

London, 1940. Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Her indefatigable spirit and remarkable gifts for codebreaking, though, rival those of even the highest men in government, and Maggie finds that working for the prime minister affords her a level of clearance she could never have imagined--and opportunities she will not let pass. In troubled, deadly times, with air-raid sirens sending multitudes underground, access to the War Rooms also exposes Maggie to the machinations of a menacing faction determined to do whatever it takes to change the course of history.

Ensnared in a web of spies, murder, and intrigue, Maggie must work quickly to balance her duty to King and Country with her chances for survival. And when she unravels a mystery that points toward her own family's hidden secrets, she'll discover that her quick wits are all that Read More chevron_right

Frequently Asked Questions About Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Mystery

Book Reviews (13)

5
  |   13  reviews
Did you read Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Mystery? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
5
   Stamp of Approval
I bought this book for my 90th birthday my mother. She worked in the War Office of Churchill during the war and went to the Yalta Conference in Russia. I don 't know how the whole espionage aspect of the book would go over with her, but was hoping that the description of the book as an accurate picture of wartime England would prove enough to interest her. She says that it is very accurate. It evoked some memories for her of working as a secretary, being looked down by some older secretaries due to her limited wardrobe, hearing her father's correct conclusion when she was given a clothing list including a warm coat for an undisclosed trip, etc. Thus my five star rating-approval by someone who lived it and priceless memories.
 
5
   Mr. Churchill's Secretary
This novel has a snazzy mix of fact and fiction. The characters acted believably, as I think real humans did during the bomb attacks. However, some and in some situations showed super-human abilities. The fiction parts stretched the imagination, but kept the interest of the readers.
 
2
   Needed a good editor
I got a number of novels and histories set in the postwar period and was looking forward to finding a new series. The writing has been erratic for me. Some individual sentences were superb, even poetic, but the author threw too many characters at us once and many spoke and acted as if in the 21st century. The assassins, intended to shock, seemed cliche. The book would have been strengthened if the author had carefully outlined what she wanted in each chapter and built the needed suspense. Sorry, you don 't plan to read others in the series.
 
5
   Great series to sink your teeth into
It is an easy read that keeps you entertained. In this fiction, a lot of historical references are involved.
 
5
   England WWII, some romance, Can't Get Better!
I am glad that I did not pay attention to the negative reviews, and there are quite a few if I had done so, I would have missed a very good story. I enjoyed learning some things about Winston Churchill, his war rooms, his secretaries, England's spies, the cryptographers etc. She is super cool, pretty, well-educated, sassy, tough. I loved the story very much, a page-turner for me and I highly recommend it ''. My introduction to this author was my secretary Churchill and I am glad that I met her. I look forward to reading more books by her authors.
 
1
   Disappointing read
I had high hopes for this series as I enjoy reading series books during the WWII era. This was most disappointing in that the characters acted like very contemporary people with 21st century sensibilities and slang. It was very confusing for the unconjuring. I borrowed the second in the series from the library in hopes that it might improve, but I checked this series after a few chapters and could not recommend it.
 
4
   An interesting Story
This is the first book in the series, introducing Maggie Hope as a strong character who can break codes, and is a brilliant mathematician plus secretary for Winston Churchill.
 
4
   World War II mystery and spys
The beginning of the book kept my attention, then the characters caught in the office and the friendships. When putting historical characters into fiction, it can be difficult to read for those of us who read a lot of non-fiction about the period, but the author has done a good job with it.
 
5
   A page-turner you can't put down.
Susan Macneal has done lots of research before she put pen to paper. This story is authentic and you will feel yourself in London, working for Mr. Churchill, spending time with your friends and living in blacked London each night. The very interesting twist to all this is that Maggie Hope, the main character, is American. Or at least was raised in America by her aunt when she was orphaned as a child, and after graduating from college came to London to sell her inherited home. But as she has made friends and the war begins, she feels obliged to help and not to escape to America's safety. This leads her to a job in the government, which leads to her discovery that she is not an orphan after all. The mystery deepens as Maggie discovers a code that she believes threatens the life of the prime minister.
 
5
   Loved it! We're reading it in our book club.
I loved this book really ''. The characters are well developed, the plot is complex. I liked the characters and you never know what comes next. I couldn t put it down!
 
12