Ms. Bixby's Last Day
  • Ms. Bixby's Last Day
  • Ms. Bixby's Last Day
  • Ms. Bixby's Last Day
  • Ms. Bixby's Last Day
ISBN: 0062338188
EAN13: 9780062338181
Language: English
Release Date: Apr 4, 2017
Pages: 336
Dimensions: 0.63" H x 7.56" L x 5.12" W
Weight: 0.49 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Good

$2.99
List Price: $8.79
Save: $5.8 (65%)
Quantity
16 Available
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Acceptable $2.99 Ms. Bixby's Last Day
  • Good $2.99 Ms. Bixby's Last Day
  • New $8.79 Ms. Bixby's Last Day
Book Overview

New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice

This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

Kids won't just love this book. They need it. --Soman Chainani, New York Times bestselling author of The School for Good and Evil

Each page crackles as we embark on the greatest adventure of all. --Gary D. Schmidt, Newbery Honor winner and author of Okay for Now

Everyone knows there are different kinds of teachers. The boring ones, the mean ones, the ones who try too hard, the ones who stopped trying long ago. The ones you'll never remember, and the ones you want to forget. Ms. Bixby is none of these. She's the sort of teacher who makes you feel like school is somehow worthwhile. Who recognizes something in you that sometimes you don't even see in yourself. Who you never want to disappoint. What Ms. Bixby is, is one-of-a-kind.

Topher, Brand, and Steve know this better than anyone. And so when Ms. Bixby unexpectedly announces that she won't be able to finish the school year, they come up with a risky plan, more of a quest, really, to give Ms. Bixby the last day she deserves. Through the three very different stories they tell, we begin to understand what Ms. Bixby means to each of them--and what the three of them mean to each other.

Frequently bought together

Frequently Asked Questions About Ms. Bixby's Last Day

Book Reviews (17)

5
  |   17  reviews
Did you read Ms. Bixby's Last Day? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
5
   You'll Never Forget This Book
I did not expect laughing, quoting 12 yr old boys and crying throughout what will become or must become a mandatory read for teachers, parents, just everyone. This is not written for just 8-12 year olds. There is depth, timeless lessons and reality in metaphors. CLASSIC is good stuff. You 'll love all three boys, Topher, Steve and Brand. You know them before you read about them! And you learn a few new words thanks to Brand and his influence on his friends. You 'll really love Bixby's Ms. Make sure that your school library has this on their shelf.
 
5
   Absolutely "one of the good ones" -- actually, one of the BEST ones in our school library!
5 stars is NOT enough -- book WONDERFUL I can 't wait to share it with my students and teachers. The three boys are both funny and touching in their questionable choices, but their hearts are HUGE! Indeed, Ms. Bixby is one of the good ones!
 
5
   Three boys on a mission
When she disappears before her class goodbye party, Brand, Steve and Topher set out to track her in her hospital room. Funny, moving and full of engaging characters.
 
5
   MG Must read!
It is rare to read a book about boys and what they are thinking and how they deal with difficult situations like this book. But this book gets inside the head of not just three boys who are good friends and their adventure '' to celebrate Ms. Bixby's last day.
 
5
   Touching story of the impact of a teacher on her students.
I love books with excellent teachers, who really make a difference in their students. '' Mr. Bixby is one of the good ones. Take your tissues for this one-touching in all the best ways.
 
5
   Touching homage to a favorite teacher
Wonderful story about 3 6th grade boys on a mission to give their favorite teacher a day she won 't forget. It deals with love, growth, pain, humor and death and does it all beautifully. It felt for my 3rd grade daughter a touch awkward, but it wasn 't mature and she really enjoyed it. It does reveal information about the tooth fairy, which I edited as I read, so a small head up there! A touching, heartfelt and humorous story. We 'll keep this book in our library and recommending it to others.
 
4
   Bixbyisms
Thirteen year old boys learn about friendship, determining what is important and how to stick with things, though sometimes it is difficult. This is a book where their teacher finds ways to get the best out of the boys.
 
5
   For Fans of Gordon Korman and Gary Schmidt
It will pull at your heart, but it will also make you laugh. I think that children who like Gordon Korman and Gary Schmidt would like this book a lot.
 
1
   Terrible ending
If your son or daughter is reading this book, be warned that the ending is quite harsh. Spoiler Alert : The teacher is dying at the end and some children may have a very difficult time with this.
 
5
   Fantastic MG novel
This is my favorite MG novel I ever read. I love how the backstories traveled as they unfolded. Overall, a fantastic read that I couldn t put down. Highly recommended with your kids as a read aloud.
 
12