• Music of the Mill
  • Music of the Mill
  • Music of the Mill
ISBN: 0060560770
EAN13: 9780060560775
Language: English
Release Date: Feb 28, 2006
Pages: 336
Dimensions: 0.9" H x 7.8" L x 4.9" W
Weight: 0.55 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Very Good

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Very Good

$4.39
List Price: $17.85
Save: $13.46 (75%)
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Very Good $4.39 Music of the Mill
  • New $17.85 Music of the Mill
Book Overview

This Description may be from another edition of this product.

In a stunning literary achievement -- with a power and scope in the tradition of John Steinbeck and Theodore Dreiser -- Luis J. Rodriguez captures the soul of a community and a little-known era in America's history in his epic novel about love, family, workers' rights, industrial strife, and cultural dislocation.

When the Salcido family departs for the United States, their flight is hardly different from the journeys of the indigenous tribes who roamed America for tens of thousands of years, or immigrants who sailed across entire oceans, or countless others who have left their native lands behind for the promise of a better life.

Traveling mostly on foot, Procopio Salcido and his future wife, Eladia, leave Mexico for the United States to escape the bleak realities of their homeland.

Finally settling in Los Angeles, the young couple discover that the hopes they have for their children must now be weighed against the backdrop of the mighty Nazareth steel mill, their engine for survival, which will eventually become the lifeblood of their own American dream.

Spanning sixty years and three generations, Music of the Mill is set in the industrial boom of post-World War I Southern California, where jobs seemed plentiful, communities thrived, and racial harmony Read More chevron_right

Frequently Asked Questions About Music of the Mill

What should you read after Music of the Mill Book? Here is a list of books to read if you read and loved Music of the Mill

Book Reviews (0)

0
  |   0  reviews
Did you read Music of the Mill? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha

No customer reviews for the moment.