New Kid
  • New Kid
  • New Kid
ISBN: 0062691198
EAN13: 9780062691194
Language: English
Release Date: Feb 5, 2019
Pages: 256
Dimensions: 0.57" H x 9" L x 6" W
Weight: 1.24 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Publisher:
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Good

$2.99
List Price: $12.99
Save: $10 (76%)
Quantity
168 Available
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Good $2.99 New Kid
  • Acceptable $2.99 New Kid
  • Very Good $3.96 New Kid
  • New $12.99 New Kid
Book Overview

This Description may be from another edition of this product.

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds--and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

This middle grade graphic novel is an excellent choice for tween readers, including for summer reading.

New Kid is a selection of the Schomburg Center's Black Liberation Reading List.

Plus don't miss Jerry Craft's Class Act

--Scholastic Teacher Magazine

Frequently bought together

Frequently Asked Questions About New Kid

New Kid Series In Order - By Jerry Craft

Book Reviews (15)

4
  |   15  reviews
Did you read New Kid? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
5
   Evocative
I loved it with my 10yo. The perspective of the student was really appreciated.
 
4
   Lovely book
There is more substance on the front cover of the book. I love the book! It is a good book for my son because we are moving out of state.
 
1
   New kids in unrealistic school
White teachers are disrespected in the political tool of the left There are many unlikely events of this school day and the hate from this young boy comes through. There is a danger of hatred for people.
 
1
   Stereotypical
I bought this book for my child to learn more about social issues. I was disappointed that I purchased it. Everyone he encounters is stereotypical and racist. I mean everyone. The most disappointing part was that. It does help to discuss difficult topics more openly if you read it with me.
 
1
   Not appropriate for kids
There is no chance my child is reading this book, I wish I had looked into it more before purchasing it. The book makes people of certain races look bad and is a shame to kids who need to understand diversity.
 
5
   A great graphic novel!
I was connected to Jordan a lot. Craft gets it, I loved how realistic and real this story was. The art was wonderful.
 
5
   Why I Loved This Bookm
This is a book that will make you want to finish it, because it tells a story that will wrap you up.
 
5
   Great for a lukewarm reader
My fourth grade son isn't always an enthusiastic reader, but he tore through this comic book.
 
3
   the plot was quite slow
I buy the Newbery and Caldecott winners when they are announced. A new graphic novel was going to be in the classroom. The book is not as big of a hit as I had hoped. This book is a review written by one of my students. There was no crazy exciting stuff in the book. That is what I look for in a book. The plot was very slow. I like the main character. I would recommend this book to teenagers. A lot of older people think that books with slow plots are better than younger kids think. I am young.
 
3
   Comic book....
This would be great if your child likes comic style books. We don't like the style of comic books. I need to do more research.
 
12