Next To Love
ISBN: 081298241X
EAN13: 9780812982411
Language: English
Release Date: May 15, 2012
Pages: 320
Dimensions: 1.1" H x 7.95" L x 5.2" W
Weight: 1.54 lbs.
Format: Paperback
`
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Good

$3.98
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 2 at this price.
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Good $3.98 Next To Love
  • Very Good $4.58 Next To Love
Book Overview

For fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, The Postmistress, and Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, a story of love, war, loss, and the scars they leave set during the years of World War I and its aftermath.

It's 1941. Babe throws like a boy, thinks for herself, and never expects to escape the poor section of her quiet Massachusetts town. Then World War I breaks out, and everything changes. Her friend Grace, married to a reporter on the local paper, fears being left alone with her infant daughter when her husband ships out; Millie, the third member of their childhood trio, now weds the boy who always refused to settle down; and Babe wonders if she should marry Claude, who even as a child could never harm a living thing. As the war rages abroad, life on the home front undergoes its own battles and victories; and when the men return, and civilian life resumes, nothing can go back to quite the way it was.

From postwar traumas to women's rights, racial injustice to anti-Semitism, Babe, Grace, and Millie experience the dislocations, the acute pains, and the exhilaration of a society in flux. Along the way, they will learn what it means to be a wife, a mother, a friend, a fighter, and a survivor. Beautiful, startling, and heartbreaking, Next to Love is a love letter to the brave women who shaped a nation's destiny.

Impossible to put down. --Stacy Schiff

Look for special features inside. Join the Circle for author chats and more.

Frequently Asked Questions About Next To Love

Book Reviews (0)

0
  |   0  reviews
Did you read Next To Love? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha

No customer reviews for the moment.