Now Beacon, Now Sea: A Son's Memoir
ISBN: 1646220420
EAN13: 9781646220427
Language: English
Publication Date: Sep 7, 2021
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover
Publisher:

Now Beacon, Now Sea: A Son's Memoir

by
$22.17
List Price: $26
Save: $3.83 (14%)
Select Format
Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: Very Good

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Very Good

$22.17
List Price: $26
Save: $3.83 (14%)
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.

Select Conditions
  • Very Good $22.17 Now Beacon, Now Sea: A Son's Memoir
  • New $26.00 Now Beacon, Now Sea: A Son's Memoir
Book Overview

A wrenching debut memoir of familial grief by a National Book Award finalist--and a defining account of what it means to love and lose a difficult parent, for readers of Joan Didion and Dani Shapiro.

When Christopher Sorrentino's mother died in 2017, it marked the end of a journey that had begun eighty years earlier in the South Bronx. Victoria's life took her to the heart of New York's vibrant mid-century downtown artistic scene, to the sedate campus of Stanford, and finally back to Brooklyn--a journey witnessed by a son who watched, helpless, as she grew more and more isolated, distancing herself from everyone and everything she'd ever loved.

In examining the mystery of his mother's life, from her dysfunctional marriage to his heedless father, the writer Gilbert Sorrentino, to her ultimate withdrawal from the world, Christopher excavates his own memories and family folklore in an effort to discover her dreams, understand her disappointments, and peel back the ways in which she seemed forever trapped between two identities: the Puerto Rican girl identified on her birth certificate as Black, and the white woman she had seemingly decided to become. Meanwhile Christopher experiences his own transformation, emerging from under his father's shadow and his mother's thumb to establish his identity as a writer and individual--one who would soon make his own Read More chevron_right

Frequently Asked Questions About Now Beacon, Now Sea: A Son's Memoir

Book Reviews (0)

0
  |   0  reviews
Did you read Now Beacon, Now Sea: A Son's Memoir? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha

No customer reviews for the moment.