Oblomov
ISBN: 1933480092
EAN13: 9781933480091
Language: English
Publication Date: Oct 12, 2006
Pages: 443
Dimensions: 1.4" H x 8.8" L x 5.7" W
Weight: 1.55 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Acceptable

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Acceptable

$10.32
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.

Select Conditions
  • Acceptable $10.32 Oblomov
Book Overview

This Description may be from another edition of this product.

For fans of Ottessa Moshfegh's My Year of Rest and Relaxation, the classic Russian novel about an indolent aristocrat who spends most of his days in bed

A Penguin Classic

Written with sympathetic humor and compassion, this masterful portrait of upper-class decline made Ivan Goncharov famous throughout Russia on its publication in 1859. Ilya Ilyich Oblomov is a member of Russia's dying aristocracy--a man so lazy that he has given up his job in the Civil Service, neglected his books, insulted his friends, and found himself in debt. Too apathetic to do anything about his problems, he lives in a grubby, crumbling apartment, waited on by Zakhar, his equally idle servant. Terrified by the activity necessary to participate in the real world, Oblomov manages to avoid work, postpones change, and--finally--risks losing the love of his life. This superb translation by David Magarshack captures all the subtle comedy and near-tragedy of the original.

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.

Frequently bought together

Total price: $20.61

Add all 3 to Cart Add all 3 to list

Frequently Asked Questions About Oblomov

What should you read after Oblomov Book? Here is a list of books to read if you read and loved Oblomov

Book Reviews (0)

0
  |   0  reviews
Did you read Oblomov? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha

No customer reviews for the moment.