ISBN: 1416971718
EAN13: 9781416971719
Language: English
Release Date: May 1, 2012
Pages: 320
Dimensions: 1" H x 7.6" L x 5.1" W
Weight: 0.35 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Acceptable

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Acceptable

$3.49
List Price: $10.05
Save: $6.56 (65%)
Quantity
25 Available
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Acceptable $3.49 Out of My Mind
  • Good $3.88 Out of My Mind
  • Very Good $4.08 Out of My Mind
  • New $10.05 Out of My Mind
Book Overview

This Description may be from another edition of this product.

Over 1.5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller Out of My Mind and discovered the brilliant mind of Melody Brooks.

Out of My Mind spent two years on the New York Times bestseller list

If there's one book teens and parents (and everyone else) should read this year, Out of My Mind should be it. --Denver Post
A gutsy, candid, and compelling story. It speaks volumes. --School Library Journal (starred review)
Unflinching and realistic. --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
Uplifting.This moving novel will makes activists of us all. --Booklist (starred review)

From multiple award-winning author Sharon Draper comes a story that will forever change how we all look at anyone with a disability, perfect for fans of RJ Palacio's Wonder.

Eleven-year-old Melody is not like most people. She can't walk. She can't talk. She can't write. All because she has cerebral palsy. But she also has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything she has ever experienced. She's the smartest kid in her whole school, but NO ONE knows it. Most people--her teachers, her doctors, her classmates--dismiss her as mentally challenged because she can't tell them otherwise. But Melody refuses to be defined by her disability. And she's determined to let everyone know it.somehow.

Frequently bought together

Frequently Asked Questions About Out of My Mind

Book Reviews (16)

5
  |   16  reviews
Did you read Out of My Mind? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
5
   Wonderful book
My 9 year old and I read this book together. It was one of the Bluestem books that she read. They are doing a program at school. I am an SLP in the school system and I liked this book. I remember one of my students. I cried several times and explained it to my daughter. One of the Rebecca Caudill books is what my 12 year old read. She liked it too. She went ahead to see what was going to happen. Excellent book. People need to read this book to appreciate what they have. It can make you realize that people who are differently abled have thoughts and feelings as well. The humor is great in this book. I was very excited about it.
 
5
   Everyone Has Something to Offer!
I have a daughter who has the same physical condition as Melody. I felt like this book could have been about her and that's why we're trying to find a way to communicate with her. I'm determined to keep trying because it's not a simple solution. I hope the book helps young adults see people with disabilities in a new way. I wish our school administrators read this book. Everyone wants to be a part of a community and every person is valuable.
 
5
   Helps you see other perspectives
I bought this for my son to read. He has not finished it yet, but it is well written and has an intriguing storyline.
 
5
   Memorably Moving
One of the best stories I have read in a long time. I could feel her frustration as well as her joy as she faced each obstacle. Excellent work!
 
5
   BEST book of all time. Seriously.
For the past 15 years, I've read this book to every class I've taught. The students are interested in the story of a disabled fifth grade student. The story of how people are judged simply for how they look is not a good one. A main character with cerebral palsy has a difficult time communicating her thoughts, wishes and beliefs. The students will be excited to read the next chapter of the story. It's highly recommended. Although I purchased this for 9 year old students, my young teenaged children also read it and therefore I would recommend it for children 9-13.
 
5
   Good for adults too
My 10 year old granddaughter told me that her class was reading this. I was sucked in on the first chapter of the story when I started reading. There is an interesting and unusual character with many handicaps, but without self-pity and with great humor and courage. I wish I'd read it when I was 10. The author was not born when I was ten, but I'm glad to read it now.
 
5
   Great story, great quality
I gave this story to my cousin as a gift because I loved it so much when I was in 5th grade. She says she likes romance. The story shows how to overcome adversity at a young age.
 
3
   Good one.
It was a book that tugged at my heartstrings. I work with a person who has a traumatic brain injury and wish she could have some of the things the computer gives her. A person with cerebral palsy is the smartest person in her grade. No one knows because she can't talk. The book was good, but it was a bit slow at times. The way she was treated by her teachers made me angry but she didn't let them bother her too much. Her parents don't treat her differently than her sister. Mrs. V helps melody reach her fullest potential. This book was a good read and I was happy to try it out.
 
5
   One of the best books I've read.
Anyone who works with children with disabilities should read this book. The viewpoint of the main character causes one to think about how we interact with people with disabilities I enjoyed the story and the read.
 
5
   Out of this world
The twists that I never saw coming are amazing. I was so immersed in the characters that I was pounding my fists. Some of the realistic characters do not change for the better. People will never be nice and some will be.
 
12