Outer Dark
ISBN: 0679728732
EAN13: 9780679728733
Language: English
Release Date: Jun 29, 1993
Pages: 256
Dimensions: 0.6" H x 7.9" L x 5.2" W
Weight: 0.55 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Publisher:
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Good

$9.97
List Price: $17
Save: $7.03 (41%)
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.

Select Conditions
  • Good $9.97 Outer Dark
  • Very Good $9.97 Outer Dark
  • New $17.00 Outer Dark
Book Overview

Outer Dark is a novel at once fabular and starkly evocative, set is an unspecified place in Appalachia, sometime around the turn of the century. A woman bears her brother's child, a boy; he leaves the baby in the woods and tells her he died of natural causes. Discovering her brother's lie, she sets forth alone to find her son. Both brother and sister wander separately through a countryside being scourged by three terrifying and elusive strangers, headlong toward an eerie, apocalyptic resolution.

Frequently bought together

Total price: $39.92

Add all 3 to Cart Add all 3 to list

Frequently Asked Questions About Outer Dark

Book Reviews (13)

4
  |   13  reviews
Did you read Outer Dark? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
4
   lyrical imagery that is poetic like no other author you'll read
I liked the book, as with McCarthy, it has a lot of imagery and irony. One could argue that one of the main characters is the personification of evil, or that the evil is reflection, only looking back at him for his bad karma. The book makes periodic leaps in months or days, which can be confusing for a reader, and the ending is very poetic. What may even anger the reader due to their perception of resolution or lack thereof.
 
5
   A Dark Gem From A ByGone Era
Fans of McCarthy and I mean folks who have read more than No Country andor The Road, will feel right at home. What attracted me to this work was age. Along with the near-biblical descriptions of the everyday and mundane that accompany his works, dialogue authenticity is always one of his strongest suits. Speaking of things that always accompany his works, the dark subject matter here might make some of you shrink from the task of reading it, but I encourage you to dive in and add it to your collection.
 
3
   Too Much Slang While Trying Too Hard
While I have read previous books by Cormac McCarthy, well three of them, I know his style and find it enjoyable and engrossing. But I found this book quite difficult to read and it was not as immersive. It took me a short while to figure out what was somewhat offsetting the overreaching use of slang. It seemed to the author way too hard to make you feel like you were really in the geography and period, but came across as mildly desperate. This content may not be suitable for everyone, somewhat cautioned. Previously, great author that I enjoyed so much until I got to this book.
 
5
   Outer Dark
The book came in the right time to enjoy it! I look forward to my next book purchase! Please keep the good work!
 
1
   Stay Away
The book is HORRIBLE. It involves incest, cannibalism and infant sacrifice. The writing has no quotation marks around the dialogue ; the accent is overwhelming and distracting, and the endless darknessviolence will give nightmares. Don 't read it. Stay away!
 
2
   It was very strange. The reading was slow in many parts making me bored with it. And the ending was abrupt.
I read it just a few weeks ago and don't remember a lot of it. I did not like the ending.
 
5
   The Inner Darkness of the American Spirit
This is the third book I read by Cormac McCarthy. One thing that impressed me about his work is how well he has captured the endemic American inclination to do violence. They are typical Americans, like those who vote for Bush in our time, clamor for war, support the death penalty, are willing to torture hapless prisoners and passionately announce that such a country should be bombed back to the Stone Age. McCarthy captured America.
 
3
   Thanks for the book
I ordered the book, however, as New, but the book came with obvious water damage on its spine. Nevertheless, thanks.
 
4
   i wish that i hadn't read this
I have read 9 or 10 books by this man, but this is the first that was so dark that I wish I had not even read it. Granted, his writing style draws the reader in and the dialogue is uncannily true to form, but the characters of this time had literally no redeeming value. I read it straight and found no relief, not even at the end. What a depressing read is. i did, sorry.
 
5
   Quietly horrific.
One can even begin to capture the eeriness of this book. It both captures and disgusts one's sensibilities. If I did not know Cormac better, I would think that he was a horror writer. To say more about it is to weaken it and its affect on the soul and mind of none. I think so even if what he writes is totally unsettling.
 
12