Roller Girl
  • Roller Girl
  • Roller Girl
  • Roller Girl
ISBN: 0803740166
EAN13: 9780803740167
Language: English
Release Date: Mar 10, 2015
Pages: 240
Dimensions: 1.1" H x 8.1" L x 5.6" W
Weight: 1.15 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Publisher:
`
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Good

$4.08
List Price: $13.99
Save: $9.91 (70%)
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 3 at this price.
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Good $4.08 Roller Girl
  • Acceptable $4.08 Roller Girl
  • Very Good $4.08 Roller Girl
  • New $13.99 Roller Girl
Book Overview

This Description may be from another edition of this product.

The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming tale about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby--perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile

For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high ) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school. in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut -- now adapted for audio -- that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverance, and girl power


Performed by Almarie Guerra, with Jesse Bernstein, Ron Butler, Abigail Caro, RobbieDaymond, Giordan Diaz, Em Eldridge, Read More chevron_right

Frequently Asked Questions About Roller Girl

Book Reviews (13)

5
  |   13  reviews
Did you read Roller Girl? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
5
   Roller Derby in empowering.
I am in my 4th season playing roller derby with the Mid-State Rollergirls and a mother of a 13-year-old. In a conference call yesterday, Blair said: "We are totally able to relate to what Astrid is going through. Jennette Tamayo, a spokeswoman for Wal-Mart, said: "Many customers have had similar experiences." I think it's spot on with what these girls are going through and the decision to try to find yourself and what you are in to, said Blair. Courageous people stand up for themselves and for who they are even at the risk of losing a best friend. Thanks for the amazing read! ColorMeKrazy will hold the record for the most number of sales in a single day.
 
5
   Fun, easy read. Both son & daughter loved it. Comic-book format.
My 9-year-old daughter and 11-year-old son both LOVED this book and both read it twice. Each child in the class will read the entire book in one day. It's a great read, said Darl McBride, Marvel's executive vice president.
 
5
   Just a awesome read for girls.
I borrowed this graphic novel from our local library for my oldest daughter who is 9 years old. I had wanted to purchase it first but was unsure if she would like it. She ended up reading it in one sitting, which she absolutely loved. She has read it multiple times. We ended up buying her roller skates and she was so excited to try them. In turn she asked if we could buy her book. I read it as well, and I liked the message the author had in regards to growing up and friendships sometimes ending and changing. Young adults, for example, could relate.
 
5
   What a great story for middle school girls
The book was also a finalist for the National Book Award. What a great story for middle school girls, Diana said. Relationships between these girls and boys can be difficult and mean between young girls. The book tells the story of trying to adjust to new friends. However, changes in the way the game is played also come with decisions to take a different path. Roller Girl tried something new: She joined a roller derby team. She also thanked God for the challenges she faced that brought new friends, respect and confidence. It's a great book, said Blair.
 
5
   A Book About Choices..and Blue Hair
Although I did not want to encourage my grandaughter to dye her hair blue, I did want her to read this fun filled story of friends finding friends. It's a great story, said Blair. It's great for this middle school age group struggling with so many social changes as they search for their own identity. The writer, who has battled cancer, only a single night to read the entire thing. Now the book is making its way around her circle of friends, too - a great testament to the popularity it earns. The book was originally published in 1996, but I was reluctant to pick it up as just the thought of a roller derby did not sound like something I would want my lovely grandaughter to read. I'm glad I did.
 
5
   Friendly, accessible, solid
This is an ideal graphic novel for a young reader, Witt said. I just finished reading it to my second-grade daughter, who loved it, and her younger brother wants to read it with me. While set among kids the summer between elementary and middle school, it easily translates to a broad age range with its themes of growth, change, friendship, and family. His story telling and illustration are rock solid, never trying to be flashy or clever, instead doing their job without fail.
 
5
   Page turner!
She has a very big reader, so it was great to see her really enjoying a book! There are some purists who would like to see it more like it was in the movies.
 
5
   okay , have only 1,00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 stars sorry. (But not really)
I'm not even sure how to say this, but it's amazing. Thanks for the book and for all the great work. Heh really good at this being-an-authur thing, Raymond said. Please write more books like this or not I don't care! Thanks for the great job, Robert. Thanks for the tip, I really love this book. It's just that they call it quits."
 
5
   Is there a sequel?
My daughter absolutely devoured it. She takes breaks from her school work to read the book. After about halfway through, she asked me to order the second book, which I'm not even sure if that's a thing. We're delighted we can get more books by Victoria Jamieson.
 
5
   Five stars
My 3rd grade daughter absolutely loves it. Graphic novels are great for the kid who doesn't normally read.
 
12