Saving Jemima: Life And Love With A Hard-Luck Jay
ISBN: 1328518957
EAN13: 9781328518958
Language: English
Release Date: Sep 10, 2019
Pages: 192
Dimensions: 1" H x 9" L x 6" W
Weight: 1 lbs.
Format: Hardcover
Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: New

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: New

$25.00
Quantity
11 Available

Select Conditions
  • New $25.00 Saving Jemima: Life And Love With A Hard-Luck Jay
Book Overview

This Description may be from another edition of this product.

For fans of Wesley the Owl and The Soul of an Octopus, the story of a sick baby bird nursed back to health and into the wild by renowned writer/artist Julie Zickefoose.When Jemima, a young orphaned blue jay, is brought to wildlife rehabilitator Julie Zickefoose, she is a virtually tailless, palm-sized bundle of gray-blue fluff. But she is starved and very sick. Julie's constant care brings her around, and as Jemima is raised for eventual release, she takes over the house and the rest of the author's summer. Shortly after release, Jemima turns up with a deadly disease. But medicating a free-flying wild bird is a challenge. When the PBS show Nature expresses interest in filming Jemima, Julie must train her to behave on camera, as the bird gets ever wilder. Jemima bonds with a wild jay, stretching her ties with the family. Throughout, Julie grapples with the fallout of Jemima's illness, studies molt and migration, and does her best to keep Jemima strong and wild. She falls hard for this engaging, feisty and funny bird, a creative muse and source of strength through the author's own heartbreaking changes. Emotional and honest, Saving Jemima is a universal story of the communion between a wild creature and the human chosen to raise it.

Frequently Asked Questions About Saving Jemima: Life And Love With A Hard-Luck Jay

Book Reviews (0)

0
  |   0  reviews
Did you read Saving Jemima: Life And Love With A Hard-Luck Jay? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha

No customer reviews for the moment.