Saving Winslow
  • Saving Winslow
  • Saving Winslow
ISBN: 0062570714
EAN13: 9780062570710
Language: English
Release Date: Sep 3, 2019
Pages: 176
Weight: 0.65 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Publisher:
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Good

$3.88
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Good $3.88 Saving Winslow
Book Overview

This Description may be from another edition of this product.

Indie Next List Pick - ALA Notable Children's Book - Texas Bluebonnet Award Winner

A winning tale of love. --Kirkus (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Charlotte's Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.

Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie's quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, Read More chevron_right

Frequently Asked Questions About Saving Winslow

Book Reviews (9)

5
  |   9  reviews
Did you read Saving Winslow? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
5
   Son loved this
For my third grader, I bought this book. He selected it based on its nomination of Maude Hart Lovelace. He enjoyed the book and said he would recommend it to others.
 
5
   Adorable book that made my daughter love reading every page!
My 10 year old hates reading, though she is really good at it. She reads 2 12 grades above her primary school level. She died from the mundane books assigned by her teacher. Her teacher then told her to purchase or borrow this book from the library, and my daughter LOVED this book! Thank you Sharon for writing a book that my daughter actually fell in love with!
 
5
   My 9 year old son loved it.
My child loves animals and has a big heart, so he fell in love with the story. I heard him say, Awww, several times while reading, I heard him giggle and I may have seen a little tear a time or two. We will definitely read more from this author!
 
5
   Really cute story
I really liked this story I bought three different books, from the same author, after If you like to read stories of love for animals, their bonds with humans and reminders to think positive '', then this is a grab for you and yours. I really liked the development of each character in this book '' and I feel that many teens can relate to these characters, as well.
 
5
   My 9 Years old boy loves this book so much.
My son, who prefers to read the dishes than to wash this book, loves reading it. It is perfect for the 4th grader and children who love animals. He also told me that he will read it 3 times.
 
4
   Nice story.
Quick read : I realize that it was not written for adults, but it was a tad on the boring side. My 9 - year old daughter really liked the book. She said that it is one of her favorites.
 
5
   You will fall in love with a donkey...Winslow!
Sharon Creech always writes books that appeal to children, parents and teachers. She did it with a book called Moo and now with Saving Winslow. This year I will use this one in my presentations.
 
5
   Another Winner!
An outstanding book for the growth mindset as well. Would also make a wonderful read aloud for younger students.
 
5
   Loved it!
Sharon Creech's Saving Winslow is a Heartprint book that is told masterfully. And while this is a story about saving a donkey, Creech has woven so much more. It is a story about a boy who struggles to find his purpose, a girl who is afraid to love and a family that misses a son who is away serving our country. I highly recommend ''.
 
1