Sh*T My Dad Says
  • Sh*T My Dad Says
  • Sh*T My Dad Says
  • Sh*T My Dad Says
  • Sh*T My Dad Says
  • Sh*T My Dad Says
  • Sh*T My Dad Says
ISBN: 0061992704
EAN13: 9780061992704
Language: English
Release Date: May 4, 2010
Pages: 176
Dimensions: 0.9" H x 7.3" L x 5.8" W
Weight: 0.1 lbs.
Format: Hardcover
Publisher:
Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Good

$3.88
List Price: $16.99
Save: $13.11 (77%)
Quantity
66 Available
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Good $3.88 Sh*T My Dad Says
  • Like New $4.88 Sh*T My Dad Says
  • New $16.99 Sh*T My Dad Says
Book Overview

This book is ridiculously hilarious, and makes my father look like a normal member of society. --Chelsea Handler

Tuesdays with Morrie meets F My Life in this hilarious book about a son's relationship with his foul-mouthed father by the comedy writer who created the massively popular Twitter feed of the same name.

A few months ago, comedy writer Justin Halpern, 29, found himself living at home with his 73-year-old father after being dumped by his longtime girlfriend. Sam Halpern had never minced words, and when Justin moved back home, he was smart enough to write down all the ridiculous things his dad said to him, like The universe does not give a fuck about you. You are a speck in its shit, and The worst thing you can be is a liar.Okay fine, yes, the worst thing you can be is a Nazi, but THEN, number two is liar. Nazi 1, Liar 2, and Everybody loves that Da Vinci code book. Bullshit, it sucks. I read it. It's for all the dummies. These quotes, or philosophies, have become Shit My Dad Says, a Twitter page that in less than a month was being followed by over 500,000 people, had spawned articles in newspapers and magazines, as well as inspiring calls from movie and television producers, celebrities, and just about everyone else who heard about the site.

SH*T MY DAD SAYS, Justin Halpern's first book, is a mix of his dad's quotations and longer-form essays in the vein of David Sedaris and Chelsea Hander. It is a hilarious, unforgettable account of a unique father-son relationship and the filthy words of wisdom that have defined it.

Frequently Asked Questions About Sh*T My Dad Says

Book Reviews (14)

5
  |   14  reviews
Did you read Sh*T My Dad Says? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
4
   Loved it!
I keep this short because I probably don 't have anything to say that someone else did not already mention. I loved this book ''. I laughed so many times that my husband kept trying to read over my shoulder, so I bought him his own copy for Father's Day. He obviously loves his children more than anything, but at the same time he is not going to take any nonsense from anyone. P.S. : If four-letter words make you laugh instead of cringe, this book is not for you.
 
5
   HILARIOUS!
This book was easily the funniest book I read in years! If this dad really says this crazy stuff, he is unintentially the funniest human being on the planet. I received a lot of strange looks while reading this book due to my cracking roughly every 30 seconds, but it was worth it. It was worth the additional $1.50.
 
5
   Your Children Are Watching.......Right Or Wrong ?
My 21yr is my favorite. Then my old daughter read it and lent it to me. It was a snarky encyclopedia. If you are not close to your daughter or son, it will draw you closer because of all the people say Yes '' and we say No '' discussions that evolve. I would have loved to have this book when my father was alive. Now that Bill Cosby proved what he was as his book's fatherhood zoomed the charts and tried to make fatherhood more scientific than putting a man on the moon. Try something light and laugh. After all, perception is reality. This is a good gem of a little time, but you will have a sense of humor better. It will also point out to you to be careful : Your children see more than you think ''. Even when you think that they must be zombies from video games, the Internet, i-phones, etc. They could be incorrect or right, but that is the question.
 
4
   Something different
This is one of those books that is not great literature and will not win a prize, but is a funny book to read when you have a few hours of free time. The blurb on the dust jacket says it is being made into a sitcom. I think that they would have to clean up the language a bit, and I am not sure how that would affect reality. Like Ross Cavins'; Follow the Money is an earthy look at life with a lot of what some people call irreverent language. There is a look at the reality of relationships, including unromatic incidents where you are not going to score because your girlfriend hugging a commode loses her dinner and the reality of having a dog when you live in an apartment without a yard. There is a lot to learn about interpersonal relationships with other people. It is something to which many people can relate. You get the good, the bad and the ugly.
 
5
   Excellent read
Halpern's tales of his father's ability to say the absolute right thing for the right purpose in a straightforward manner made me feel at home. The book is hilarious and smart, and resonates to some degree with most readers. I found the fact that Halpern's father said hardly ever words and seemed to be a refreshing and much needed sincerity in today's phony and political-aggressive behavior that we managed to develop to accommodate for out of control's political correctness. A lifeguard on the beach: what were you doing that far out there? You can 't swim... Son, you're a good athlete, but I have seen what you call diving, looks like a slow kid on his knees trying to slash ants. Now that is funny. The image was imprinted in my brain and I can get it '' or stop laughing. Book is excellent.
 
5
   So, so funny
I am in the mood for something funny, so I put this on my Kindle. And you know what else is? In a somewhat strange way, it was heartwarming. Yes, there was wisdom, leadership, and caring in all profanity. His father may be fond of positive words, but he is also a cuss guy who gives a s%*t about his family. From his words and actions there is truly something to learn, as profane as they may be. I have met many people who act nice and have good manners, but are not too kind. Beautifulness is not the same as true kindness. Strangely, his father had a lot of kindness where it really counted, he just didn't always present it in a typical way. All these people who give him a bad rap in their reviews must look beyond the superficial and judge people for what really matters. The book is funny, but with substance if you are willing to see it.
 
4
   great gift for the hard to buy for guy
My father is one of those men who has it all. He was blessed with an awesome sense of humor, so that this was our way of entertaining. He calls it his bathroom reading material, loves it. Great product at a fantastic price!
 
5
   This Dad has a way with words...a real gift!
Really cool stories of growing up with a not-likely father who had a real gift for expressing himself! But not for the faint-hearted or easily PC-offended. Especially right now worth the $1.99 Kindle price. I have just seen that Mr. Halpern Sr. has written a novel... I am intrigued. I may read that one next.
 
4
   Great book, I really enjoyed it!
It was at times over the top, but at least once reading. I think that most people can relate to this, as most families have that one person so over the top, that a book should be written about them! If you buy it and read it, I guarantee you won 't be disappointed!
 
5
   OMG Funny
This is a quick read and yes, you will laugh. I reminded me of the way I was brought up. If you are stupid, you should be told that you are stupid. It does not much matter whether you are 10 or 6. If you like to read, this is one to laugh at!
 
12