• Six Crimson Cranes
  • Six Crimson Cranes
ISBN: 0593300912
EAN13: 9780593300916
Language: English
Release Date: Jul 6, 2021
Pages: 464
Dimensions: 1" H x 8" L x 6" W
Weight: 1 lbs.
Format: Hardcover
Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Good

$11.58
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 3 at this price.

Select Conditions
  • Good $11.58 Six Crimson Cranes
  • Very Good $14.10 Six Crimson Cranes
Book Overview

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELER - A princess in exile, a shapeshifting dragon, six enchanted cranes, and an unspeakable curse. Drawing from fairy tales and East Asian folklore, this original fantasy from the author of Spin the Dawn is perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone.

A dazzling fairytale full of breathtaking storytelling. --Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

Shiori'anma, the only princess of Kiata, has a secret. Forbidden magic runs through her veins. Normally she conceals it well, but on the morning of her betrothal ceremony, Shiori loses control. At first, her mistake seems like a stroke of luck, forestalling the wedding she never wanted. But it also catches the attention of Raikama, her stepmother.

A sorceress in her own right, Raikama banishes the young princess, turning her brothers into cranes. She warns Shiori that she must speak of it to no one: for with every word that escapes her lips, one of her brothers will die.

Penniless, voiceless, and alone, Shiori searches for her brothers, and uncovers a dark conspiracy to seize the throne. Only Shiori can set the kingdom to rights, but to do so she must place her trust in a paper bird, a mercurial dragon, and the very boy she fought so hard not to marry. And she must embrace the magic she's been taught all her Read More chevron_right

Frequently Asked Questions About Six Crimson Cranes

Book Reviews (7)

5
  |   7  reviews
Did you read Six Crimson Cranes? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
5
   WOW
It's by far the best book I've read this year and it will be very hard to top. Cover to cover this book was also beautifully written. The author writes in the most melodious and poetic way. I've loved every single one of them. I'm not always a fan of YA books, but this one avoids every YA trope. I would recommend this book to anyone of any age or background. I'm so excited for the second book. The second I finished this book, I immediately purchased Elizabeth Lim's other series, Spin the Dawn, which was good too, but this one remains my favorite from this author. I will now read anything from this author, I can't wait!
 
1
   Lost pages
I was so excited to read this book, Melissa. Opened it and saw that the first few pages were almost falling off when you look closely. The second book, "Breaking Bad," had three more chapters, including "Chapter Three."
 
5
   Absolutely enchanting read!
It was a total surprise to me how much I love this book. It began slightly slow, picked up as you went, but it was so beautifully written that I felt like I had changed along with Shiori. Shiori started out as an absolute trouble maker, never thinking things through. Her confidence and self-esteem rise, and she becomes less arrogant and more kind. She is also a little more cautious about her magic, the very thing she could be exiled or murdered for. She ends up with the last person she’d expect or even want to be near — a man she doesn't even know. What I loved most about this story was the family aspect, Elizabeth Barrett wrote. Even when it was difficult, they would do anything for each other. There were some amazing characters, but all meshed well together, he said. They include: Queen Elizabeth, Michael Buble, and Diana de Souza. Even if you're not a fan of the book, I highly recommend it to anyone.
 
5
   I loved this book so freaking much.
I've read and enjoyed every book by him, and I'm almost certain that I will never meet another writer. The book was so good, I was excited to read it, said Blair. What a beautiful way to describe everything, even the tiniest details. She paints pictures in my mind that make me fall in love with the world and her characters as effortlessly as breathing, he said. What a writer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, wrote this review of Elizabeth Taylor. I've always enjoyed reading the story. I love the juxtaposition of the cranes and paper, Raymond said. There are dragons and demons and witches. He said he was shipping the main couple before they met. She has a lot of brothers, and I love them all. I've always loved the nobleman. I've always loved the bad guys. I am so stoked for book 2, and I am disappointed I can't preorder it. He also said that if anybody wanted to buy a boat, they should have known that the government wouldn't tax it. But I can't express to you how much I want you to read this book. It was a surprise pick for me to be on the list, and it ranked as one of my top 3 reads of the year. Avonworth stars in a revival of "The Seven Year Itch."
 
5
   A Delight!
In anticipation of the book coming out, I read some of Lim's earlier books and, well, didn't love them. It's great to hear that people are still interested in the game, said Blair. Shiori is a narrator and just the right mix of witty, self-deprecating, and lovable princess. Though Dean made many friends, the relationships she forms feel dynamic and the characters make realistic choices. Now I'm probably going to jump back in and spend more time with these characters, Byrne said. Shiori said they would like to go on more adventures with him in the future.
 
5
   Evocative, lush and utterly mesmerizing
While I'm not saying I'll never read another duology by Lim, this new story is on another level entirely. In "Six Crimson Cranes," Michael Shannon's lush and utterly mesmerizing evocation of a fairytale, we are pulled into a world of enchantment both unique and familiar. Devoid of all the caricatures that plague YA today, Mork was fresh, human and beautifully executed. So excited to see more of our princess, Tunick said. That really makes me happy, Taylor said of the book. Soprano knew Lim was an excellent writer but she really upped her game with this story, said Robert Bruno, executive director of the National Book Foundation. There was simply too much to choose from, Hughes said of the three movies. Jordan Barowitz, of the New Republic, said: "I highly recommend this book.
 
5
   🐉 An enchanting YA fantasy filled with magic, family, and hope. 🐉
This is a well-executed, creative, original, and dark fairytale meets action-packed adventure with remarkable dark fairytale vibes that will put this book on your radar. There is a hint of romance in the finale which added a sweet note to the overall narrative. An enchanting YA fantasy filled with magic, family and hope. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at (313) 222-2027 or [email protected] com.
 
1