Speaking American: How Y'All, Youse, and You Guys Talk: A Visual Guide
ISBN: 0358359937
EAN13: 9780358359937
Language: English
Release Date: Sep 1, 2020
Pages: 224
Dimensions: 0.57" H x 10" L x 9.5" W
Weight: 2.18 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Publisher:

Speaking American: How Y'All, Youse, and You Guys Talk: A Visual Guide

by
$6.87
List Price: $17.99
Save: $11.12 (61%)
Select Format
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Very Good

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Very Good

$6.87
List Price: $17.99
Save: $11.12 (61%)
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.

Select Conditions
  • Very Good $6.87 Speaking American: How Y'All, Youse, and You Guys Talk: A Visual Guide
  • Good $6.87 Speaking American: How Y'All, Youse, and You Guys Talk: A Visual Guide
  • New $17.99 Speaking American: How Y'All, Youse, and You Guys Talk: A Visual Guide
Book Overview

From the creator of the New York Times dialect quiz that ignited conversations about how and why we say the words we say, a stunning and delightful exploration of American language

Did you know that your answers to just a handful of questions can reveal where you grew up? In December 2013, Josh Katz released an interactive dialect quiz in the New York Times that became the most viewed page in the paper's history. Now a graphics editor, Katz harnessed the overwhelming response to that quiz to create Speaking American, an extraordinary and beautiful tour through the American vernacular.

How do you pronounce pecan? What do you call a long sandwich with varieties of meats and cheeses? Do you cut the grass or mow the lawn?

The answers to these questions--and the distinctions they reveal about who says what and where they say it--are not just the ultimate in cocktail party fodder; they are also windows into the history of our nation, our regions, and our language. On page after page, readers will be fascinated and charmed by these stunning maps of how Americans speak as they gain new insights into our language and ourselves.

For fans of Eats, Shoots and Leaves and How the States Got Their Shapes, Speaking American is an irresistible feast of American regional speech.

Frequently Asked Questions About Speaking American: How Y'All, Youse, and You Guys Talk: A Visual Guide

Book Reviews (0)

0
  |   0  reviews
Did you read Speaking American: How Y'All, Youse, and You Guys Talk: A Visual Guide? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha

No customer reviews for the moment.