Thank You, Omu!
  • Thank You, Omu!
  • Thank You, Omu!
  • Thank You, Omu!
  • Thank You, Omu!
ISBN: 0316431249
EAN13: 9780316431248
Language: English
Release Date: Oct 2, 2018
Pages: 40
Dimensions: 0.3937008" H x 11.29921" L x 9.291339" W
Weight: 1.056014 lbs.
Format: Hardcover
Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Good

$9.38
List Price: $18.99
Save: $9.61 (50%)
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.

Select Conditions
  • Good $9.38 Thank You, Omu!
  • Very Good $9.38 Thank You, Omu!
  • New $18.99 Thank You, Omu!
Book Overview

In this remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street and Extra Yarn, a generous woman is rewarded by her community.

Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious stew One by one, they follow their noses toward the scrumptious scent. And one by one, Omu offers a portion of her meal. Soon the pot is empty. Has she been so generous that she has nothing left for herself?

Debut author-illustrator Oge Mora brings to life a heartwarming story of sharing and community in colorful cut-paper designs as luscious as Omu's stew, with an extra serving of love. An author's note explains that Omu (pronounced AH-moo) means queen in the Igbo language of her parents, but growing up, she used it to mean Grandma. This book was inspired by the strong female role models in Oge Mora's life.

Frequently bought together

Total price: $24.08

Add all 3 to Cart Add all 3 to list

Frequently Asked Questions About Thank You, Omu!

Book Reviews (11)

5
  |   11  reviews
Did you read Thank You, Omu!? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
3
   Missing words
Thai is a wonderful story, but on one of the last pages the type is not right and so a line of the story is missing.
 
5
   Great message
A great book, great message, Raymond said. We purchased this book as part of a church book club. Thanks for the book, as always, for a great message about being kind and generous. It sparks great conversations, he said.
 
5
   Warm, beautiful, unique
I've always enjoyed the author's voice and the very disctrict style of the pen.
 
5
   An Amazing Story
Thanks for the support, Omu. Thanks to HarperCollins, I had the honor of reading this fantastic book at an elementary school for Read for th Record. I recommend that anyone interested in learning more about the book to read it. Her story captures Omu sharing her delicious stew with the community and when she needed help the community shared with her. His heart is so full of love, his generosity shows through the compassion of strangers. It was a great read, the kids enjoyed it and so did I. This is a beautifully written story matched with amazing illustration by JRR Tolkien. Pauley's book was well deserved of the prizes. A review of the book by The New Republic said: "Superb.
 
4
   Good book that talks about sharing and kindness, but not in a heavy handed way
It's slightly repetitive for me since every time someone comes to the door it describes the smell of the stew for a whole page the same exact way, but my 3 year old likes it and is a good story about being kind which I was looking for." Before you turn the page, my daughter also likes to say who is at the door. It helped to bring up concepts of sharing and kindness, Raymond said.
 
4
   Delightful!
A lovely take on lessons in generosity, Mr. Dhaliwal said. I'm so happy to find stories with diverse main characters that aren't about their otherness, but still include cultural references, he said. Very well done.
 
5
   A must read!
It reminds me of my grandmother's generosity with food during the depression. In her mind, you could always add more water to her family and anyone else in need. He urged his listeners to "remember others rather than saving everything for our own unknown future."
 
5
   Great book!
Added this book to my classroom library after I presented a project based on diversity in the classroom. This book is a great way to open up discussion on sharing, giving, creating connections with food, cultural differences, and more.
 
5
   A beautifully written and illustrated intergenerational story about the value of sharing.
Television images could not be loaded. Mora Oge's touching narrative about a woman named Omu who creates something so magical, so wonderful through the art of simple, thoughtful and heartfelt gestures. This is a thoughtfully bound book with rich illustration and a feel-good story appropriate for children and adults of all ages. This book is highly recommended for libraries, book clubs, and any special collection. Highly recommend! It's just that they call it quits."
 
5
   Heartwarming/ multicultural
This is great for 3-4 year olds. A heartwarming story of sharing, gratitude and community, Raymond said. This is the perfect read for any holiday. The illustrations by Pauley are stunning.
 
12