The Bitter Side of Sweet
ISBN: 0399173072
EAN13: 9780399173073
Language: English
Publication Date: Feb 23, 2016
Pages: 320
Dimensions: 1.11" H x 9.13" L x 6.57" W
Weight: 1.58 lbs.
Format: Hardcover

The Bitter Side of Sweet

Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Good

$3.88
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 2 at this price.
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Good $3.88 The Bitter Side of Sweet
Book Overview

For fans of Linda Sue Park and A Long Way Gone, two young boys must escape a life of slavery in modern-day Ivory Coast

Fifteen-year-old Amadou counts the things that matter. For two years what has mattered are the number of cacao pods he and his younger brother, Seydou, can chop down in a day. This number is very important. The higher the number the safer they are because the bosses won't beat them. The higher the number the closer they are to paying off their debt and returning home to Moke and Auntie. Maybe. The problem is Amadou doesn't know how much he and Seydou owe, and the bosses won't tell him. The boys only wanted to make some money during the dry season to help their impoverished family. Instead they were tricked into forced labor on a plantation in the Ivory Coast; they spend day after day living on little food and harvesting beans in the hot sun--dangerous, backbreaking work. With no hope of escape, all they can do is try their best to stay alive--until Khadija comes into their lives.

She's the first girl who's ever come to camp, and she's a wild thing. She fights bravely every day, attempting escape again and again, reminding Amadou what it means to be free. But finally, the bosses break her, and what happens next to the brother he has always tried to protect almost breaks Amadou. The old impulse to run is suddenly awakened. The three Read More chevron_right

Frequently Asked Questions About The Bitter Side of Sweet

What should you read after The Bitter Side of Sweet Book? Here is a list of books to read if you read and loved The Bitter Side of Sweet

Book Reviews (0)

0
  |   0  reviews
Did you read The Bitter Side of Sweet? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha

No customer reviews for the moment.