• The Book of Mistakes
  • The Book of Mistakes
  • The Book of Mistakes
  • The Book of Mistakes
  • The Book of Mistakes
ISBN: 0735227926
EAN13: 9780735227927
Language: English
Release Date: Apr 18, 2017
Pages: 56
Dimensions: 0.59" H x 11.61" L x 9.69" W
Weight: 1.1 lbs.
Format: Hardcover
Publisher:
Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: Very Good

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Very Good

$13.07
List Price: $18.99
Save: $5.92 (31%)
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.

Select Conditions
  • Very Good $13.07 The Book of Mistakes
  • New $18.99 The Book of Mistakes
Book Overview

Zoom meets Beautiful Oops in this memorable picture book debut about the creative process, and the way in which mistakes can blossom into inspiration

One eye was bigger than the other. That was a mistake.
The weird frog-cat-cow thing? It made an excellent bush.
And the inky smudges. they look as if they were always meant to be leaves floating gently across the sky.

As one artist incorporates accidental splotches, spots, and misshapen things into her art, she transforms her piece in quirky and unexpected ways, taking readers on a journey through her process. Told in minimal, playful text, this story shows readers that even the biggest mistakes can be the source of the brightest ideas--and that, at the end of the day, we are all works in progress, too.

Fans of Peter Reynolds's Ish and Patrick McDonnell's A Perfectly Messed-Up Story will love the funny, poignant, completely unique storytelling of The Book of Mistakes. And, like Oh, The Places You'll Go , it makes the perfect graduation gift, encouraging readers to have a positive outlook as they learn to face life's obstacles.

Frequently bought together

Total price: $25.00

Add all 3 to Cart Add all 3 to list

Frequently Asked Questions About The Book of Mistakes

Book Reviews (16)

5
  |   16  reviews
Did you read The Book of Mistakes? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
1
   Big book. Little content. Good message blurred by pomp.
Michael Kiddo, who has read the book, said he likes to read it occasionally. At first, I thought it was ok. The book is also available in a limited edition of just 25 copies. Holding the book in one hand while frequently turning pages with the other makes my hand ache before the end of the second pass. We don't read this more than twice in one sitting and we only pull it out if kiddo picks it up on his own. After several reads, the story becomes pretty pompous. Overall, I'm not a huge fan of Dr. Goin's work.
 
5
   Exquisite drawings, heartfelt words
Holding her hand and reading her words has a certain comfort. Even a glance at the book evokes those feelings.
 
5
   Imagine don’t be afraid.
Mistakes can be a learning experience when we look at them from a different prospective. I like the lack of words in some pages and the way the pictures draw themselves.
 
5
   Beautiful Illustrations
Beautifully illustrated by some of the world's most talented illustrators, the book tells the story of a boy who never grew up and is now surrounded by people who think he is perfect. I think it's so important to teach kids that they don't necessarily have to strive for perfection, but rather for personal excellence, she said.
 
5
   Great art
Mistakes are inevitable, but I love the lessons behind each one, every mistake something beautiful appears on the page. Great book, great artist, and i'm sure millions of other readers will too.
 
5
   Everyone needs this book - children AND adults.
As someone who deals with perfectionism and guilt and self-criticism, she cried tears of relief at the end of the book. The work of the artists is whimsical and beautiful, the statement says.
 
3
   Not quite as expected but good all the same
I was expecting this book to have a bit more of a message about it being okay to make mistakes, Bustin said. It was a present from my son who is a bit of a perfectionist in his drawing. He liked it and I definitely explained to him that the book showed us that we shouldn't get frustrated over mistakes and instead make them into something we can be happy with, Sapp said. That message was there, but it was just not as explicitly as I had hoped. A good book, with lots of pictures. Our conversation has helped him not be so hard on himself and accepting of mistakes, Graham said.
 
5
   A Perfect Mistake
I love the book. Mistakes in artlife can lead to beautiful things, by the end of the book, it hit me deeply. The pictures are stunning and lush, growing in beauty and complexity with each page turn. Every time I read it, I got chills. Buy it, own it, read it to someone else.
 
5
   Spectacular and Entertaining Book
Beautifully illustrated by some of the illustrators who created the book, "Mistakes are ok to make them and how it can turn into something even more spectacular." I have a 3 and 5 year old who are in stitches every time we read it.
 
1
   Not....really....a....book....
Some of the pictures are fun to look at, but that's about it. Neither of our kids enjoyed it nor did I, but there was no story.
 
12