The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
ISBN: 067002581X
EAN13: 9780670025817
Language: English
Release Date: Jun 4, 2013
Pages: 416
Dimensions: 1.5" H x 8.8" L x 6.1" W
Weight: 1.4 lbs.
Format: Hardcover
Publisher:

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

by
$4.08
List Price: $30
Save: $25.92 (86%)
Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: Acceptable

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Acceptable

$4.08
List Price: $30
Save: $25.92 (86%)
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 2 at this price.
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Acceptable $4.08 The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
  • Good $4.18 The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
  • Very Good $4.68 The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
  • New $30.00 The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
Book Overview

This Description may be from another edition of this product.

The #1 New York Times bestseller about the Greatest Generation freshly adapted for the next generation.

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Great Depression comes the astonishing tale of nine working-class boys from the American West who at the 1936 Olympics showed the world what true grit really meant. With rowers who were the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington's eight-oar crew was never expected to defeat the elite East Coast teams, yet they did, going on to shock the world by challenging the German boat rowing for Adolf Hitler.

At the center of the tale is Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, whose personal quest captures the spirit of his generation--the generation that would prove in the coming years that the Nazis could not prevail over American determination and optimism.

This deeply emotional yet easily accessible young readers adaptation of the award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller features never-before-seen photographs, highly visual back matter, and an exclusive new introduction.

From the Hardcover edition.

Frequently Asked Questions About The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Book Reviews (7)

5
  |   7  reviews
Did you read The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
5
   Excellent
If you're not a fan of rowing or know nothing about rowing, this is a great book. The crew of the boat that won the gold medal at the 1936 Olympics is the subject of the article. The author creates tension and interest. If you read this, you might be interested in rowing. The book is great.
 
4
   The Boys in the Boat
Bought for my husband and he really enjoyed it. It was well told and put together. Enjoys books that have happened. Felt author really researched as he had a lot of information on all.
 
5
   Great Book!
The rowing aspect of the book was enthralling, and I enjoyed learning about the Nazi propaganda surrounding those Olympics as well.
 
5
   Great Story!
I listened to the book on audiobook service. It was very interesting and engaging. Both the inner workings of a competitive crew team and the political upheaval in Nazi Germany in 1938 were excellently narrated. I've heard from people that it was difficult to understand the mechanics of the sport. I decided to listen rather than read because of that. It made the difference. I think this book is very good.
 
1
   Boring
The book is better than the pill. It put me out when I picked it up. It doesn't begin to describe it. This is a book for anyone interested in rowing. I was trapped in a black cloud that I couldn't escape from. I didn't finish the book, that is something I never do.
 
5
   Sonny, back in the day did it much different
A great book about a very interesting topic. The look into what people were going through during the Depression shows the different way that training was viewed back in that day. Today's athletes put in a lot of time and effort into their training and play on top of the academic requirements placed on them, so I am aware of the amount of time and effort they put into their training. It was at a different level back in the day. The coaches were all about working and doing it again and again. A coach that kept his rowers out on the water in the middle of a driving sleet storm would likely get in trouble now days. It is on top of spending summers hanging on the side of a cliff to work at dam building. These guys are at a very different level. Excellent read, great topic.
 
5
   Thoroughly enjoyed it after a bit of a slow start
Each year, our high school assigns a book that all students are required to read over the summer and then they have an assignment related to the book upon returning to school. I heard good things about this book from my family so I decided to give it a try. I was glad that I stuck with it despite the fact that it didn't pull me in immediately, as some books do, but it did start out slowly. I was sucked in by the time I got to a third of the way through. It's a book that has something for everyone, with compelling history, athletic training and competition, and compelling stories of individuals that overcame insurmountable odds. I was sad to see the book end.
 
1