The Cardboard Kingdom
  • The Cardboard Kingdom
  • The Cardboard Kingdom
  • The Cardboard Kingdom
  • The Cardboard Kingdom
ISBN: 1524719382
EAN13: 9781524719388
Language: English
Release Date: Jun 5, 2018
Pages: 288
Dimensions: 1" H x 8" L x 6" W
Weight: 0.81 lbs.
Format: Paperback
`
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Very Good

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Very Good

$3.98
List Price: $12.99
Save: $9.01 (69%)
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Very Good $3.98 The Cardboard Kingdom
  • New $12.99 The Cardboard Kingdom
Book Overview

This Description may be from another edition of this product.

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Awkward, and All's Faire in Middle School, this graphic novel follows a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary cardboard into fantastical homemade costumes as they explore conflicts with friends, family, and their own identity.

A breath of fresh air, this tender and dynamic collection is a must-have. --Kirkus, Starred

Welcome to a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary boxes into colorful costumes, and their ordinary block into cardboard kingdom. This is the summer when sixteen kids encounter knights and rogues, robots and monsters--and their own inner demons--on one last quest before school starts again.

In the Cardboard Kingdom, you can be anything you want to be--imagine that

The Cardboard Kingdom was created, organized, and drawn by Chad Sell with writing from ten other authors: Jay Fuller, David DeMeo, Katie Schenkel, Kris Moore, Molly Muldoon, Vid Alliger, Manuel Betancourt, Michael Cole, Cloud Jacobs, and Barbara Perez Marquez. The Cardboard Kingdom affirms the power of imagination and play during the most important years of adolescent identity-searching and emotional growth.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOKS OF THE YEAR BY KIRKUS REVIEWS * THE NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY * Read More chevron_right

Frequently Asked Questions About The Cardboard Kingdom

Book Reviews (15)

5
  |   15  reviews
Did you read The Cardboard Kingdom? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
1
   Not for young kids!!!
The commenter could not have put it better, so it could not have been better. I wish I had a head up before he read it. I wish authors would be more blunt if they are writing a book about imagination and friendship, or a book about social issues. It felt like we were entangled into reading a book that was disguised as a child's story about imagination, acceptance and kindness, but it was really about much heavier topics like divorce and sexuality.
 
5
   A soothing book requested frequently
I had a foster son who would ask every night for this book. The focus on friendship and monsters made only from cardboard seemed to him calming and we abandoned so many other books! I sent it with him when he moved on, and will need to buy another copy, plus there is a sequel now :
 
5
   An adventure that will take you back
Today, nostalgia is often used as a pejorative to make someone's love for a specific book, show or movie sound unimportant. However, Said Pejorative is a luxury that the cardboard kingdom does not have. This middle grade graphic novel reminds me of simpler times. Somehow, the Rugrats vibes I felt from this, felt as if I was watching the sequel of the aforementioned tv show. There is so much I can say about this book, however, I leave it at this will be one of the books I want to read to my future children. Danke Barbara, Chad, you and the rest of the team have created a piece of sequential art that inspires a generation.
 
5
   Best book in the world
I love this book with all these creative kids making a cardboard stuff of awesomeness BEST BOOK '' everyone should read it.
 
5
   Cardboard wow
This book was fun, the colors pull you in, the stories endearing, and as a grown adult myself, remembered how fun it was to be a kid again and imagining. The things that some children go through, divorce, bullying, gender identity, and much more was kid-orientated, but yet powerful to understand at any age. Even if it was just touching a small topic. I've been reading more stories like this one and enjoyed how each story was its own thing, but was really one big thing together.
 
1
   Mature themes. Not for little kids
I am disappointed that my son spent most of the book confused and figuring out if the characters were gay or trans. I wish I had one head up before he read it. I wish that authors would be more blunt about if they are writing a book about the imagination and friendship or a book about social issues. It was almost like we were cajoled into reading a book disguised as a child story about imagination, acceptance and kindness, but it was really about much heavier issues, such as divorce and sexuality.
 
5
   My son loved it
My 11 year old loved this in a few hours, he read it so much! He wanted to talk to me about the book overall and show me each part. He's bummed that there aren 't more books! It was a series wish.
 
5
   Eisner nominated for a reason!
This book is good - humor and a must have for children and adults to teach people to be charming to one another. It is very needed in today's society. For the graphic novels that are nominated, Eisner awards don 't get nominated for nothing. I wouldn 't be surprised at all if this won in its category.
 
4
   Thinking Outside the Box
In this book, neighborhood kids dress up as the characters they created to fight the neighborhood teenagers. For example, Big Banshee is big and strong, the ferocious animal was wild and fierce and the huntress was aggressive and strong. This was achieved by getting more and more people on their side and being more creative and making new costumes and weapons. Even one of the teens became part of their team because he wanted to be creative and help the younger kids. I think that other kids will like this book because it was fun to read and I liked how the little ones didn 't give up.
 
5
   Wonderful!
I greatly appreciated the stories that dealt with difficult childhood themes. The joy I bring you the pages makes it clear that Chad + team brought stories they wish they had as children to life. Looking forward to giving this one to my friends'children.
 
12