The Cay
ISBN: 038000142X
EAN13: 9780380001422
Language: English
Pages: 144
Dimensions: 0.47" H x 7.32" L x 4.88" W
Weight: 0.2 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Publisher:
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Good

$3.88
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 4 at this price.
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Good $3.88 The Cay
  • Very Good $4.08 The Cay
Book Overview

This Description may be from another edition of this product.

For fans of Hatchet and Island of the Blue Dolphins comes Theodore Taylor's classic bestseller and Lewis Carroll Shelf Award winner, The Cay.
Phillip is excited when the Germans invade the small island of Cura ao. War has always been a game to him, and he's eager to glimpse it firsthand-until the freighter he and his mother are traveling to the United States on is torpedoed.
When Phillip comes to, he is on a small raft in the middle of the sea. Besides Stew Cat, his only companion is an old West Indian, Timothy. Phillip remembers his mother's warning about black people: They are different, and they live differently.
But by the time the castaways arrive on a small island, Phillip's head injury has made him blind and dependent on Timothy.

Mr. Taylor has provided an exciting story.The idea that all humanity would benefit from this special form of color blindness permeates the whole book.The result is a story with a high ethical purpose but no sermon.--New York Times Book Review

A taut tightly compressed story of endurance and revelation.At once barbed and tender, tense and fragile--as Timothy would say, 'outrageous good.'--Kirkus Reviews

* Fully realized setting.artful, unobtrusive use of dialect.the representation Read More chevron_right

Frequently bought together

Frequently Asked Questions About The Cay

Book Reviews (0)

0
  |   0  reviews
Did you read The Cay? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha

No customer reviews for the moment.